:: you are here: home > sport > soccer > 2006-01-12= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Soccer News - Thursday 12 Jan 2006


Our Christmas Funday was held on December 28. It proved to be an enjoyable day for all concerned. Thank you to all the parents and members for your help and support. A mobile phone was found on the day. Could the owner contact Bridget 085-7137681.

Our next monthly meeting will be held on Monday, January 16 at 8.30 pm in Tinryland NS. These are open meetings and everyone is invited to attend. All parents are reminded that the final instalment of registration fees are now due. Payment of fees will be accepted on the night.

Under 12 League: St.Joseph’s 2, Moone Celtic 6. This was a very entertaining game which was a lot closer than the scoreline suggests. Both Teams had good chances in the early stages. Moone got off the mark when they took advantage of a short kick out in the 12th min. They scored their second goal 2 minutes later despite the efforts of the Joey’s defence especially Martin Farrell who was having a great game. Joseph’s started to get on top of their game and were unlucky not to have pulled one back when Eoin Maddock went on a solo run down the middle of the park when he was closed down by the ever strong Moone defence. Moone got their 3rd just on the stroke of half time.

St Joseph’s restarted the second half by attacking the Moone goal straight away and Eoin Maddock pulled one back in the 39th minute with a great finish. Joey’s were gaining confidence now and they continued to attack the Moone goal but were very unlucky when Moone scored their 4th against the run of play. Moone finished the game off when they scored another two in the 45th and 51st min. Despite the scoreline Joseph’s didn’t give up, they finished off the scoring of the day when there was a scramble in front of the Moone goal and the ball was cleared out to Greg Murphy who hammered the ball to the roof of the net from 20 yards out.

Best for St. Joseph’s were Martin Farrell, Greg Murphy, Ross Byrne, Sean Delaney and Eoin Maddock.

   Not Logged In