:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2013-11-01= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Friday 1 Nov 2013

Tinryland take Under 16 crown

There were jubiliant scenes in Dr Cullen Park on Saturday October 19th when Tinryland in dramatic fashion won the Carlow U16 football A championship with a late goal by Dean Dunne that would have done justice to any final at any level.
Trailing Eire Og by a single point with 90 seconds of normal time remaining the corner forward crashed the ball to the top corner of the YI net to send the huge Tinryland crowd delirious with the roar from the hoops supporters almost lifting the roof off the Lennon stand. Within seconds Niall Lowry tagged on a point for Tinryland but in true Eire Og fashion the town team never gave up but they had to be satisfied with a point in the dying seconds before referee Pat Murphy sounded the long whistle which brought unbridled joy to the young Tinryland players, their mentors and loyal supporters.

This was a cracking game from start to finish on a greasy pitch made worse by heavy showers during the game on top of the deluge that hit Carlow on the previous day.

After an entertaining first half where both teams finished on a score of 0-5 each, outstanding defensive work by man of the match John Murphy, Conor Ryan and Cathal Gaffney saw the ball back up in the Eire Og half and Conall Dunne made an immediate impact when he equalised with a brilliant point in the 36th minute. Tinryland then began to dominate with Peter Hennessy at midfield and wing back Dylan Reamsbottom outstanding and by the 46th minute were 2 clear once again following points from Conall Dunne and Dean Dunne. Eire Og finally got a great chance of a goal with 10 minutes remaining but like he did in last weeks minor final Ciaran Byrne made another outstanding save to rescue matters for his team. Not to be deterred Eire Og continued to press and they were rewarded by 2 points in the space of 60 seconds to leave the scoreboard reading 9 points each with 6 minutes remaining.

The town team continued to seek the winning point and when Colm Hulton pointed with 5 minutes left Tinryland’s supporters hearts sank a little. As the clock ticked Tinryland strived for the equaliser but it was Dean Dunne who had the bravery to go for the goal and his screamer with 90 seconds left will go down in the annals of the club history. The insurance point then came via captain fantastic Niall Lowry and despite Eire Og’s late point the U16 cup was on the way to Rathcrogue. Great credit is due to the team management of Martin Doyle, Nicky Ryan, David Larkin, Richie McGrath and Johnny Nolan. Final score Tinryland 1-10 Eire Og 0-11

Team: Ciaran Byrne, Bradleigh Nolan, John Murphy, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Cathal Gaffney, Dylan Reamsbottom, Peter Hennessy, Niall Lowry 0-4, Ciaran Larkin, Killian Maher, Conor McGrath, Dean Dunne 1-3, James McGrath 0-1, Seamus Curran.

   Not Logged In