:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2011-09-08= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Thursday 8 Sep 2011

Tinryland Advance to Carlow Quarter Finals

Tinryland advanced to the quarter final of the Carlow S.F.C. with a
hard earned 4 point victory against Kildavin-Clonegal at Dr Cullen
Park on Sunday evening 28th August.Playing against the stiff breeze in
the first half the men in blue and white got off to a perfect start
with Evan Doyle slotting over the opening point after only 30 seconds.
Kildavin-Clonegal were then denied a goal when Trevor O?Reilly brought
off a wonderful save seconds later but a Paul Broderick point in the
5th minute was quickly followed by an Ian Scully goal to put Tinryland
5 points clear after 6 minutes. Paul Broderick extended Tinryland?s
lead to six points with ten minutes remaining in the first half. The
score at half time was 1-5 to 0-3 but it should have been a lot more
considering the amount of play the Tinryland forwards enjoyed. On the
resumption, it was Kildavin-Clonegal who took the game to Tinryland
and a David Byrne goal after 10 minutes narrowed the margin to 3
points and the gap was down to 2 by the 15th minute of the second
half. Paul Broderick and Richard Sinnott then traded points before
Broderick and Evan Doyle gave Tinryland breathing space with two
further points with 6 minutes remaining. The Wexford border side
narrowed the gap to 3 points with 2 minutes remaining and shortly
after were awarded the penalty which was brilliantly saved by Trevor
Reilly. Tinryland went on to score the insurance point from Paul
Broderick to advance to the next stage.

Tinryland were very relieved to hear the final whistle and will look
forward to the O?Hanrahans game on 17th September when hopefully many
of the mistakes will not be repeated. Final score Tinryland 1-10
Kildavin-Clonegal 1-6 Team: Trevor O?Reilly, Peter Doran, Conor
Byrne, John Paul Moore, Danny Moran, Shane Redmond captain, Niall
Barrett, Cian Moore, Keith Jackson, Paul Broderick 0-5, Padraig
Townsend 0-2, Garry Morrissey 0-1, Ian Scully 1-0, Evan Doyle 0-2,
Glen Doyle. Subs used Paul Doyle, Matthew O?Toole.

   Not Logged In