:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2010-07-15= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Thursday 15 Jul 2010

All Ireland Feile Glory for Bennekerry-Tinryland U14 Girls

There was great jubiliation in the Bennekerry-Tinryland girls camp
following the teams outstanding victory at the 2010 Feile Peil Na Nog in
Derry recently after 8 years of trying and thousands of kilometres travelled along the way.
After defeating 3 different teams, Doire Colmcille and Ballerin of Derry, St. Joseph's, Leitrim to top their group, the team advanced
to a semi-final meeting with St.Brides of Louth in Castledawson. Having accounted for their semi-final opponents by 4-7 to 1-1, the team reached the final in Celtic Park, Derry
against New York in the division 4 decider.
After a classic game that went to extra time Bennekerry-Tinryland edged
ahead in the closing stages to defeat the New Yorkers by four points on a scoreline of 2-5 to 2-1.

The girls team were based with the Ballerin club in east Derry for the
duration of their stay and that club proved to be wonderful hosts for
the weekend looking after the teams every need. Well done to the team
management of John Dwyer, John Delaney, Mary Dwyer, Ann Lyons, Natasha
Lyons, Pat McArdle, Fran Mullins and Libby Jackson who looked after the
team throughout the Feile.

Tinryland boys team also had wonderful hosts in the St. Mary's club from
Rasharkin in Antrim. The boys team won their first two games before
exiting the tournament after losing by 2 points to North London.

The club committee would like to thank all who travelled to Derry to support the teams and all
those who met the bus on arrival back to Tinryland on Sunday night.

The winning girls panel was as follows: Tara Murphy, Zoe Dowling, Ciara
Condon, Aishling Kelly, Sarah Farrell, Grace Lawler, Kate Rowe, Lauren
Dwyer (Captain), Roisin Byrne, Erica Farrell, Hannah Fitzpatrick, Aoife
Maddock, Katie Quinn, Aoibheann Webb, Cliodhna Ni She, Aideen Stronge,
Emma Murphy, Zoe Jackson, Shauna Nolan, Breaca Bradley, Chloe Byrne,
Roisin Hayden, Sarah Murphy.

Congratulations also to Lauren Dwyer who reached the Skills Final on Sunday.

Girls Win County Title

Well done to the Under 12 Girls team who won the Carlow A Championship defeating Eire Og by 3-5 to 2-7
in what was a tense and exciting decider. The Bennekerry/Tinryland scorers were Aideen Stronge (1-2), Jane Bullen (1-0),
Roisin Brennan (1-0), Cliodhna Ni Se (0-2) and Lauren Holohan (0-1). The team was Katie Bullen, Ciara Carew, Roisin Brennan,
Nikita Butler, Eve McCanny, Cliodhna Ni Se, Aideen Stronge, Ciara Nolan, Jane Bullen, Zoe Jackson, Lauren Holohan, Aoife O'Sullivan,
Marie Townsend, Shannon Cotter, Doireann Walshe, Emma Fitzharris, Leah O'Gorman, Roisin Brennan, Emma McLoughlin Farrell, Chloe Keating,
Sadhbh Nolan, Ciara Byrne, Andrea Woods, Shauna Nolan, Fionnuala Hayden, Kiera Purser, Roisin O'Neill, Roisin Regan and Emma Lawlor.
Well done to trainers Eddie Corcoran and Deirdre Tomlinson for their great work with this team.

Congratulations also to Cliodhna Ni Se who was on the winning Naomh Brid Camogie Under 12 team.

   Not Logged In