:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2009-08-07= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Friday 7 Aug 2009

Footballers lose in Championship

Tinryland Senior Footballers had a disappointing defeat to Rathvilly in
the opening round of the Carlow SFC on Sunday last with a 3-15 to 2-6
defeat in Dr. Cullen Park.
Tinryland had no answer to a very strong Rathvilly team who outplayed the
blue and whites on the evening and were very much the dominant force and
could be serious title challengers should this performance be repeated.

The Seniors now have a vital games against Fenagh and Eire Og.

The Junior Footballers had an excellent win in the Division 3 Final by
0-14 to 1-5 against O'Hanrahan's.
Best for Tinryland were Ian Scully, Brian Foster, Shane DElaney, Shane
O'Neill and sub Matthew O'Toole.

The Minors drew against Michael Davitts in the Championship last week and
are still awaiting their first win to date.

Ladies Football

Bennekerry/Tinryland Ladies Senior Team played Rathvilly in the 1st round
of the championship on the 20th of July in Grange. This was a great game
of football with both teams fighting hard for possession of the ball.
Rathvilly led at the break with a score of 1-3 to B/T 0-3. Scores For B/T
were Elaine Ware, Deirdre o'Sullivan and Amanda Kinsella 1 point each. The
second half saw B/T scoring 0-6 to Rathvilly 0-3 leaving the fulltime
score 1-6 to 0-9 with a replay being the fairest result.

Team: Clodagh Behan, Emma O'Regan, Paula Murphy, Gloria Nolan, Caoimhe
Whelan, Sarah Doyle, Orlagh Moran, Amanda Kinsella, Amy Doyle, Elizabeth
Lowry, Christine Scully, Deirdre O'Sullivan, Sinead Lyons, Sandra Rowe,
Elaine Ware. Subs Niamh o'Regan, Roisin Cleary, Emer Fahy, Dervla Kelly,
Niamh Walshe, Niamh Redmond, Katie Doyle, Zoe Curran, Caoimhe Townsend,
Danielle Power, Clodagh McGrath, Audrey Browne.

B/T played Rathvilly in the replay on Thursday 30th. The replay had
excellent football and scores throughout the game. At the end of the first
half Rathvilly led on a score of 2-3 to 0-5. B/T scores coming from Elaine
Ware 0-2, Elizabeth Lowry, Sandra Rowe and Deirdre o'Sullivan 0-1 each.
B/T fought hard in the second half and produced some great scores to draw
the game and bring in into extra time. Score at the end of the second half
was B/T 1-10 to Rathvilly 2-7. B/T scores came from Lauren Dwyer 1-0, Amy
Dwyer 0-1, Amanda Kinsella and Deirdre O'Sullivan 0-2 each.

Extra time was two halves of ten minutes with both teams playing well and
fighting hard for the ball. Extra Time ended with the score Rathvilly 3 10
to B/T 2-12. B/T scorers in extra time were Lauren Dwyer and Amanda
Kinsella 0-1 and Elaine Ware 1-0. Rathvilly won by the solitary point
after two great games of football

Team: Clodagh Behan, Emma O'Regan, Paula Murphy, Gloria Nolan, Caoimhe
Whelan, Deirdre Tomlinson, Sarah Doyle, Deirdre O'Sullivan, Amanda
Kinsella, Elizabeth Lowry, Elaine Ware, Christine Scully, Sinead Lyons,
Sandra Rowe, Amy Dwyer. Subs: Niamh O'Regan, Roisin Cleary, Emer Fahy,
Niamh Redmond, Katie Doyle, Caoimhe Townsend,Lauren Dwyer


Tinryland defeated Ballinabranna by 2 12 to 1 6 in the Junior A
Championship last week. Impressive for Tinryland were Stephen O Reilly,
David O Shea, Shane Delaney, John Doyle and Danny Moran.

The Under 21 team were in action against Fenagh in the championship on
Tuesday evening.

The Senior Championship game between Tinryland and Grange was postponed
over the weekend.

The Under 12 and Under 16 teams have advanced to the semi finals of the
Carlow Coisde na nOg competition while the Under 14 team currently top
their group.


The June Tinryland GAA Supporters' Club Draw was held in the clubhouse on
11th July. The winners were:
1000 John Regan
250 Eamonn & Anne Redmond
100 Claire Deane
50 John Delaney
50 Mick Murphy
50 Peenie Whelan

The July draw was held on Saturday 1st August.

   Not Logged In