:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2008-06-20= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Friday 20 Jun 2008

Tinryland Share spoils with Kildavin Clonegal In Carlow S.F.C.
Tinryland senior footballers built on their encouraging first round display against Rathvilly when they shared the spoils with Kildavin Clonegal after an intense encounter at Dr Cullen Park on Saturday last. This was a game that Tinryland could have won or lost and in the end a draw was probably a fair result. Kildavin- Clonegal raced into a two point lead in the early stages before Paul Broderick opened Tinryland’s account with a fisted point after 4 minutes. Paul Doyle who was one of Tinryland’s best players on the night levelled matters with a great point in the 7th minute and further points from Paul Broderick, Mark Morrissey and Glen Doyle enabled the boys in blue and white to lead by three points at half time. That lead could have been extended to six but for a magnificent save by Kildavin goalkeeper Killian Brennan from Paul Broderick’s penalty on the stroke of half time. The second half proved to be an intense encounter and after Paul Broderick had increased Tinryland’s lead with a well struck free Kildavin with wind advantage set about reducing the gap. Stern defending by the Tinryland backs and further points from Paul Broderick left Tinryland with a two point lead entering the closing stages but Kildavin eventually broke down the Tinryland resistance to equalise in the final minutes. Tinryland had one last chance to win the match but Mark Morrissey saw his attempt for the winning point hit the post in the dying seconds. Tinryland who have trained hard under coach Ger Bickerstaffe had many heroes on Saturday but the defence led by captain Mark Dempsey, together with John Paul Moore, Conor Byrne, P J Murphy and Niall Barrett were excellent throughout. At mid field Willie Power and Evan Doyle battled hard throughout while up front Paul Doyle, Mark Morrissey and Paul Broderick who scored five points were always a threat. Tinryland will now have a break of almost two months from championship action before they take on Fenagh, Old Leighlin and neighbours Palatine to determine who progresses to the knock out stages of this years championship.


SFL Div 3 in Tinryland

Tinryland 2-09 Myshall 1-04

This was a game played in atrocious conditions in Tinryland on Wednesday night. It is a tribute to both teams that they served up such fine fare considering the rain which had fallen all day. It was also a very sporting game and in the end Tinryland ran out easy winners by a score of 2-09 to 1-04. The Myshall team was very physical with plenty of big men operating and for a time the younger and lighter Tinryland team had trouble coping with the strength of the visitors. But the difference between the teams was the level of skill of most of the Tinryland players.

It took fifteen minutes for the first score, a point for Tinryland scored by Padraic Townsend. Another point followed five minutes later, a lovely effort by John Doyle. Myshall opened their account in the twenty-second minute when full forward Declan Slye scored from close in. This was Myshall’s only score in the first half. Tinryland added two more points before the break by Shane Delaney and John Doyle. Tinryland were fast off the mark in the second half and added two more points by Brian Foster and John Doyle. Foster had come in for John Murphy and made quite a difference to the Tinryland forward-line. Then came a vital score when Shane Delaney scored a great goal as Tinryland began to pull away. A point by Danny Moran was followed by a goal by John Doyle after Brian Foster had hit the crossbar. Myshall then scored a good goal from close range. The final two points were scored for Tinryland by Padraic Townsend and Peenie Whelan who had come on as a sub. Myshall added three points to their total but never got near the Tinryland men to really threaten a close finish.

Tinryland had many stars on the night. Sean O’Gorman was soundness personified in goal and while the full back line had trouble with the size of the Myshall full forward line they stuck to their tasks manfully. David McDonough had a particularly fine game. It was the Tinryland half back line which laid the ground work for this victory. John Ryan, Brian Byrne and Padraig Delaney all had fine games with the latter being particularly effective. The home team were in control at midfield for most of the game with Ger Scully and Shane Delaney playing their hearts out. In the half forward line Danny Moran, Ian Scully and Chris Townsend all worked hard especially in making it hard for the Myshall backs to get up the field. In the full line Padraig Townsend was a tower of strength and ranged all over the field. John Doyle as usual took his chances well. The Tinryland subs Brian Foster and Peenie Whelan both had good outings and Foster was particularly effective.

For Myshall Philip Smithers was an excellent full back, while Colm Fox was very sound at centre half. The midfield pairing of Damien Murphy and J J Fitzpatrick always had trouble with the Tinryland combination, while in the forwards Declan Slye and Shane Roberts never gave up. Overall Myshall were beaten by a more skilful team but will trouble most teams by their size, strength and level of fitness.

Tinryland: Sean O’Gorman, David McDonough, Mark Townsend, James Moore, John Ryan, Brian Byrne, Padraig Delaney, Shane Delaney, Ger Scully, Danny Moran, Ian Scully, Chris Townsend, Padraig Townsend, John Doyle, John Murphy.
Subs: Brian Foster and Padraig Whelan.

Referee: Pat Moran.

Schools League

The final of the Tinryland N.S. Gaelic Football League took place in the school last Wed. 11th June. Contesting the final were teams captained by Adam Murphy and Owan O'Gorman.
In a tight encounter, Adam Murphy's team prevailed, winning by a single point on a scoreline of 2-3 to 1-5.  The final proved to be a great game despite the bad weather and the big crowd who turned up thoroughly enjoyed the game.
Guest of honour and former principal Denis Shannon presented the cup to the winning captain and also the player of the tournament to losing captain Owan O'Gorman.
Celebrity Bainsisteoiri, Brian Kelly and Mark Carpenter took the teams for a training session and coached them through the game. They were also on hand to present the medals.
Teams: Donegal:
Adam Murphy 1-2; Erica Farrell; Pierce Hosey; Aoife Maddock, Conor McGrath 1-0; Jamie Noctor, Mark Hickey 0-1; Alannah Scully; Kevin Murphy.
Owan O'Gorman 1-2; Denise Ryan 0-2; Daniel Cumiskey, Theresa Farrell, Megan K. Curran; Phillip Farrell 0-1; Conor Ryan, Shea Byrne; Lee Hutton; Su

   Not Logged In