:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2008-04-23= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Wednesday 23 Apr 2008

Great Start for Tinryland teams in Carlow Minor and Senior Football leagues

Tinryland teams have made the best possible start in the Carlow Minor and senior football Leagues which recently commenced. The minors despite being without their eight Co. players had their third win against Mount Leinster Rangers recently running out easy winners by 4-8 to 0-4. Outstanding for the boys in blue and white who are managed by Martin Doyle were Tom Nolan who scored two goals, James Dempsey, Paul Costello, Padraig Whelan, Ciaran Williamson  Luke Doyle and Brian Deane. The minors now have full points after victories against O’ Hanrahans, Miseal and Mount Leinster Rangers. I
On Thursday last Tinryland seniors had their first outing under new manager Ger Bickerstaffe and despite being without 8 regulars were easy winners over Ballinabranna in the S.F.L. division 2. Goals in each half from Niall Barrett and Glen Doyle contributed to Tinryland’s 2-16 to 0-7 win and there were outstanding performances from Peter Doran, Chris Cleary, Gary Morrissey, Niall Barrett, Danny Moran and Glen Doyle.
All teams are back in action this week with the Division 3 team playing Eire Og on this Wednesday evening at 6.45 p.m. in Rathcrogue and the senior team playing Leighlinbridge at the same venue at 6.45 p.m. on Tomorrow Thursday.

Senior Football Division 3 Tinryland Vs Milford 9th April 2008

This local derby game saw Tinryland playing their neighbours in the first Division 3 football outing of the year. This was a hotly contested match in the first half. Points in the first half from Padraig Townsend and Ian Scully were matched by Milford’s tallysmen Brian O’Neill and Paddy Morris. A Danny Moran goal proved to be the decisive score that left Tinryland leading by a solitary point at half time. Half time score, Tinryland 1-3, Milford 0-5

The second half represented a marked improvement for the Tinryland side who slotted over 8 points (4 of which were John Doyle frees) with the Milford side only managing 2 points in the 17th and 25th minute.The final score 1-11 to 0-7 resulted in Tinryland running out comfortable winners in the end.

Ian Scully returned to the Tinryland team after a long lay off last year due to ill health and produced an outstanding hour of controlled football. He contributed in all aspects off play and his last point from the left hand side of the field 45 yards out proved to be an inspirational score for Tinryland.

Best for Tinryland were Sean O’Gorman in goal, John Ryan, John Murphy and Ger Delaney in defence. Noel Scully until injuried, Shane Delaney and Joe Mernagh has period of dominance at mid field while up front Ian Scully, Danny Moran, John Doyle and Padraig Townsend were outstanding in attack.

Best for Milford were Sean Ryan, Kevin O’Neill, Niall Brennan, Ross Townsend, Paddy Morris and Brian O’Neill.

Tinryland: Sean O’Gorman James Moore John Ryan John Murphy Jason Curran Ger Scully Padraig Delaney Noel Scully Shane Delaney Danny Moore Ian Scully John Kelly Eddie Lyons John Doyle Padraig Townsend Joe Mernagh for Noel Scully Paul McGrath for Eddie Lyons Gary Fields for Jason Curran

Milford: Mark Mulhern Sean Ryan Keith Maher Eamon Townsend Kevin O’Neill Thomas Dowling Niall BrennanRoss Townsend Paul Haughney Brendan Heffernan Paddy Morris Shane NolanBrian O’Neill David Reddy Aidan Dowling

   Not Logged In