:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2008-01-20= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Sunday 20 Jan 2008

Sweeping changes at 119th Annual General Meeting of Tinryland G.F.C.

A very good attendance at the 119th A.G.M. of Tinryland G.F.C. resulted in major changes to the executive for the coming year. Tinryland will have a new chairman, treasurer and P.R.O. for 2008 after long serving officers Brendan Hayden, Mary Doyle and Eamonn Byrne stepped down at the A.G.M. Former chairman Michael Murphy who has been at the helm in the juvenile club for the past three years will succeed Brendan Hayden as chairman. The new chairman asked for more unity in the club for the coming year and suggested a five year plan for Tinryland to achieve its targets with senior success the priority in the immediate future. Current senior player Mark Dempsey is the new treasurer of the club succeeding Mary Doyle who received many tributes for her efforts at balancing the books over the past three years. Enda Dunican is the new public relations officer replacing Eamonn Byrne who will be involved with the backroom team for the senior football squad. Other changes at the top table will see Bernard Mullen take on the role of vice chairman succeeding John Scott who chaired the A.G.M. in the absence of the outgoing chairman Brendan Hayden who is currently in hospital. Senior players Gary Morrissey and Niall Barrett together with Greg Doyle are new additions to the executive committee. In her excellent report outgoing secretary Linda Kenny covered all the activities of the past year both on and off the field .Despite a poor performance from the senior team the only silverware that came to the club was the S.F.C. (B) title while the minor and U21 teams came very close but were eventually knocked out of their championships by the eventual Co. champions. Linda paid tribute to the efforts of the outgoing senior football management team of Paul Kenny, Paddy Townsend, John Murphy and Martin Doyle and wished the incoming team of Ger Bickerstaffe, John Lawler and Eamonn Byrne every success. The secretary also paid tribute to the juvenile section of the club that once again had a very successful year while the handball and ladies sections also came in for well deserved praise from the secretary. Linda also thanked the Tinryland supporters club under the chairmanship of David Power for their great fundraising efforts over the past year.


President: Michael Whelan, Vice Presidents: Fr John McEvoy, Paddy Regan, Jim Deane snr, Tom Doyle, Brendan Hayden. Chairman Michael Murphy, Vice Chairman Bernard Mullen, Hon Secretary: Linda Kenny, Assistant Secretary Eddie Byrne, Hon treasurer Mark Dempsey. Assistant treasurer Mary Doyle, P.R.O. Enda Dunican, Registrar Pat McArdle, Irish officer Diarmuid O’Se, Co. Board rep. John Scott,

Committee: Niall Barrett, Shay Byrne, Ned Deane, Alan Doyle, Greg Doyle, Brendan Hayden, Michael Keyes, Gary Morrissey, Cormac O’Toole, Peter Scully, Paddy Townsend, Joe Walshe.

   Not Logged In