:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2007-02-21= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Wednesday 21 Feb 2007

Tough draws for Tinryland in 2007 Co. Football Championships

TINRYLAND GFC was handed a tough enough draw when the 2007 Carlow GAA championship fixtures were finalised by the Co. board last Thursday. The senior team will compete in group C of the Michael Lyng Motors SFC against tough opposition in Rathvilly and Fenagh. The championship will commence in June and Tinryland will play their league fixtures in division 2 having been relegated last season. The U-21 team who won the championship in 2006 have also been paired with tough opposition in Éire Óg in the first round which will commence in March.

The Tinryland junior (A) team will face Ballinabranna in the first round with the junior (B) team set to face Grange. No fixtures have yet been made for the minor football championship.

Good attendance at Tinryland GFC annual dinner dance

THERE was a very good attendance at the Tinryland GFC annual dinner dance held in the Seven Oaks hotel on Friday last.
Guest of honour at the function was the legendary Mick O’Dwyer who is the current Wicklow senior football manager.
In his address to the guests the former Kerry great who has been successful throughout his long career outlined to the large attendance of play-ers his recipe for success. The multi All Ireland winner as a player and manager was highly impressed by the structures in place in Tinryland GFC and was amazed to learn that the club had fielded 19 teams at all levels in the past year.
Describing the first occasion that he wore the Kerry jersey in a NFL game against Carlow the man from Waterville stated that he had got a ‘roasting’ from current Tinryland chairman Brendan Hayden who he had marked that day.
O’Dwyer presented medals to the successful U-21 and SFL Division 3 winners and also to the Tinryland ladies team. Other speakers on the night included current Carlow GAA board secretary Tommy O’Neill whose son Shane captained the successful U-21 team. Tommy stated that Tinryland now had the structures in place to challenge for senior honours, a sentiment also touched on by Mick O’Dwyer.
Club chairman Brendan Hayden welcomed the guests that included club vice presidents Fr. John McEvoy and Tom Doyle and Tinryland supporters club president Fr. PJ Byrne who travelled from Kilcock for the function. Pat McArdle spoke on behalf of the Ladies Club who also received medals from Mick O’Dwyer.
The formal proceedings ended when the senior captain Niall Barrett, U-21 captain Shane O’Neill and SFL captain PJ Murphy presented bouquets to the three hard working ladies on the executive Mary Doyle, Linda Kenny and Mary Bates who played a major role in organising last Fridays function.
The minor selection committee for the coming year has now been finalised. Mick Murphy will manage the minors in 2007 and will be assisted by selectors John Doyle and Brian Doyle.

   Not Logged In