:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2006-12-24= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Sunday 24 Dec 2006

GAA chairman returned unopposed at AGM

OUTGOING chairman Brendan Hayden snr. who was returned unopposed for another term gave the delegates at the Tinryland AGM recently much food for thought when he questioned the progress the club was making at adult playing level. Despite winning the Co. U-21 championship and the SFL division 3 the chairman felt that Tinryland was not making progress as the club had won no match in the SFL Division 1 and had been relegated to Division 2 for the coming year. Brendan stated that it was now 26 years since the club had won the Carlow SFC and he felt that the senior teams display in the matches against Naomh Eoin and Eire Og was well short of what is required to be serious championship contenders. The chairman posed the question “Are we putting too much emphasis into the under-age side of the club?”. Brendan asked the delegates “ Have we 25 players in this club interested in playing senior football in Carlow? stating that Carlow was now rated 29th of the 32 counties in football and we were nearer the bottom of the pile at senior level in Carlow. Brendan continued by stating that Tinryland had an excellent trainer in ex Baltinglass player Paul Kenny who knows what it takes to win Leinster and All Ireland club titles and he challenged the senior players of the club to put in the required effort for 2007 “No play-ers in Carlow are looked after as well as the players in this club” the chairman continued. He felt that the club had a lot of hard searching and looking to do if Tinryland is to become a serious force in senior football in the county again.”

In his address Brendan complimented his fellow officers particularly secretary Linda Kenny who produced the finest secretary’s report the chairman had seen in his long association with the GAA. In her report the secretary listed all the highlights of the year including the U-21 and SFL Division 3 wins, the staging of the All Ireland Feile Peil na Nog and the setting up of the supporters club which has brought much needed revenue into the club. Other highlights included the winning of the best presented grounds award and the finalising of negotiations with the N.R.A. for which development club chairman Shay Byrne received much compliment.

The secretary concluded by stating “It is now time for all of us to aim in the one direction- winning the Carlow Senior Football Championship”.

In top table changes John Scott replaces David Power as vice chairman with Mary Bates taking over the role of assistant secretary. Other changes see Eddie Byrne taking on the assistant treasurer position and Pat McArdle replacing Peter Scully as club registrar.

Elected: President: Michael Whelan, Vice Presidents: Fr. John McEvoy, Paddy Regan, Jim Deane snr, Tom Doyle. Chairman Brendan Hayden. Vice Chairman: John Scott. Hon Secretary Linda Kenny. Assistant Secretary: Mary Bates, Hon. Treasurer Mary Doyle, Assistant Treasurer, Eddie Byrne. P.R.O: Eamonn Byrne, Registrar Pat McArdle, Irish officer Diarmuid O’Shea, Co. Board rep. John Scott, Scor Officer Robert O’Neill. Executive committee: David Power, Cormac O’Toole, Michael Keyes, Joe Walshe, Shay Byrne, Ned Deane, George Deane, Bernard Mullen, Michael Doran, Paddy Townsend, John Farrell, Alan Doyle.

   Not Logged In