:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2006-11-28= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Tuesday 28 Nov 2006

Milford Gaa 2006

2006 has turned out to be a fairytale year for all the members and supporters of Milford. The youth would not have heard of Milford up to last year and there is no doubt that this is certainly not the case now.

The year began with the new officers elected to the Club; President : Denny Murphy, Vice Presidents: Seán Doran and Seán Byrne, Chairman: Brendan Murphy, Vice Chairman: P.J. Brennan, Secretary: Kevin O'Neill, Asst. Secretary: Renee Stafford, Treasurer: Dermot McDonnell, Asst Treasurer: Kathleen O’Neill, PRO: Keith Moran, Registrar: Peter McEvoy, Juv. Registrar: Bernadette Purcell. 13 people were elected to Committee.

Planning permission was sought from Carlow County Council to build a Clubhouse consisting of six dressing rooms, meeting room, kitchen and gymnasium. This planning was granted and an application was made for sports capital funding. Milford club was allocated €200,000 under the capital programme and work has to be done by September 2007 to get this amount under the usual conditions. This will be a major venture to the Club in the New Year.


The juvenile part of the Club is still making progress. Three people work with the Juveniles; Ned Byrne, Ronan Cox and Kevin O’Neill. This year our club played in the go go games and had challenge matches with Killeshin. There will be a big push in the New Year to get more membership. With the building to commence it is envisaged to have a good juvenile club with facilities that are presently absent.

Junior Footballers

With the transfer of 20 players to the Club it looked good for 2006 early on. Training commenced in February under portable lights in the field. Great attendance was shown and the Club was put in Division 4 of the S.F.L. There was 14 teams in the Division and Milford went through to the semi-final having beaten Tinryland, Leighlinbridge, Old Leighlin, Mt Leinster Rangers, Palatine, Rathvilly, Naomh Eoin, Kilbride, Tullow and w.o. from Askea. Milford lost to Clonmore, Ballon and St. Mullins. In the semi-finals Milford beat St Pats (Tullow) and St Mullins defeated Mt Leinster Rangers leaving it a St Mullins V Milford final, both teams having been promoted to Division 3 S.F.L. St. Mullins defeated Milford by two points in the final and brought the cup back to South Carlow. This St Mullins team went on to win the Carlow Junior A Football Championship.

In the championship Milford re-grouped and continued on training playing Tinryland in the first round in Ballinabrannagh in August. Milford won the match by 3 – 9 to 1 – 4. The second round was played in Palatine on 30.8.06 against Éire Óg in which Milford won by 1 – 12 to 0 – 13 a thriller, and so into the semi-final. On the 30th September 2006 Ballinbrannagh the venue Milford defeated Leighlinbridge in a tough encounter by 0 – 13 to 0 – 7 to reach the County final. It was not until Sunday 12th November 2006 when the final was played against Mt Leinster Rangers in Dr. Cullen Park with Milford the winners by 0 – 8 to 0 – 6. The team panel trained for 80 sessions over the year playing 10 practice matches, 14 league games and 4 championship games a huge commitment by all panel players, trainer Pat McNally and selectors Ned Dowling and Kevin O'Neill. One very noticeable feature of the Milford players and mentors last year and this year is that no player has received a red card in two years of football a great compliment to the discipline of the players and mentors.

The New Year can be looked at more positively now that the gap has been bridge and the foundations firmly laid to build a great future for this Club.

The Club would like to congratulate our President Denny Murphy on his claiming a personality award at a recent presentation in the Dolmen Hotel. It is nice to have someone of this calibre as President of our Club.

   Not Logged In