:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2006-07-02= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Sunday 2 Jul 2006

Tinryland Senior Footballers cause first shock in Carlow S.F.C.

In the very first game of this years Carlow S.F.C. Tinryland shocked fancied O’Hanrahans with a power packed display of football at Dr. Cullen Park on Saturday last. Not since the early nineties when Tinryland last contested a Carlow S.F. final has a senior team from the club performed as good as last Saturday’s team.
With six players making their senior debut’s Tinryland took the game to the O’Hanrahans from the throw in and were 2 points up within 2 minutes. The O’Hanrahans fought back to lead by four points after 20 minutes but a delightful Niall Barrett goal in the 22nd minute followed by an equalising point from Padraig Townsend brought Tinryland right back into contention. With the scores level at 1-5 each at the break Tinryland faced the second half in optimistic mood and a great John Farrell goal after 10 minutes heralded a 9 minute golden spell for the men in blue and white who tagged on 3 further points from the hard working John Doyle and another from the excellent Keith Jackson. With a seven point lead going into the final 10 minutes Tinryland now had a golden opportunity to record a significant win over O’Hanrahans and despite a strong ‘Blues’ revival in the closing stages Tinryland held on to win by 2-11 to 1-11 and will now play Naomh Eoin in their next S.F. game in 5 weeks time. There were many outstanding performances from Tinryland players on Saturday with Co. panellist Niall Barrett leading by example with his excellent workrate throughout. How the Carlow selectors could leave a player of Barrett’s calibre on the line for over 210 minutes of football in the recent games against Wicklow, Laois and Meath is a mystery to many.
Other outstanding Tinryland players on Saturday included senior debutants David O’Neill, Mark Dempsey, Patrick Townsend, Glen Doyle, Keith Jackson and Padraig Townsend while Barry McDaniel, Mark Doran, Damien Power, Chris Cleary, John Farrell, Garry Morrissey, Evan Doyle and John Doyle also impressed with their workrate during last Saturday’s game.

Tinryland Footballers win second trophy in 2006

Tinryland won a second trophy this year when the Junior (A) squad lifted the Carlow S.F.L. Division 3 crown against Fighting Cocks at Spellman Park Kildavin on Wednesday last.
A great first half from the boys in blue and white laid the foundations for this win over a gallant Cocks side who staged a determined second half rally before Tinryland stretched clear again in the closing stages. One of the highlights of the game was a great goal in the 12th minute from U21 star Keith Jackson who finished off a five-man move that began with full back Chris Cleary and also involved Damien Power, Mark Morrissey and John Doyle. Tinryland retired at half time with a healthy six-point lead but that was halved by the 6th minute of the second half as Fighting Cocks with 3 unanswered points fought back gallantly.
The Fighting Cocks continued to press until the 20th minute of the 2nd half holding Tinryland scoreless and it was the Tinryland defence that stood up and was counted during that dominant “Cocks” period with all six backs performing heroics to keep the Rathoe side at bay. Goalkeeper JJ Doran who was excellent throughout was ably supported by Chris Cleary, Paul Haughney, Ambrose Doran, Patrick Townsend, Damien Power and captain supreme P.J.Murphy who has led by example during this division 3 campaign.
At midfield Glen Doyle and Keith Jackson further enhanced their reputations while up front Mark Morrissey, Ian Scully, Mark Dempsey, Padraig Townsend, Paul Kenny and John Doyle always posed problems for the Fighting Cocks defence. Tinryland used over 30 players during the 9-match division 3 campaign that resulted in only one loss to the “Cocks” back in April. The rest of the panel members were as follows: Shane Browne, Patrick Byrne, Jason Curran, Padraig Delaney, Eddie Dowling, Willie Farrell, Liam Fitzpatrick, Paul Foley, John Kelly, Eddie Lyons, David McDonough, Gary Morrissey, Mick Moore, John Murphy, Joe Nolan, David O’ Neill, Shane Redmond, John Ryan, Mark Townsend, Willie Townsend. Selectors: Brian Doyle (Manager) Eamonn Byrne, Paddy Delaney. Trainer Paul Kenny.

   Not Logged In