:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2006-05-14= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached image>

GAA News - Sunday 14 May 2006

Tinryland U21 Footballers win 7th Co. U21 Title

There was jubilation in Tinryland G.A.A. circles on Sunday last when the U21 footballers lifted the Mick O’Gorman cup for the 7th time. The result of last Sunday’s final against Michael Davitts was never really in doubt after Tinryland led by 7 points at half time having totally dominated the first half. Colm Doran opened the scoring in the 3rd minute and another point from Paul Broderick in the 7th minute stretched the Tinryland advantage. Despite almost total domination Tinryland missed numerous chances to increase their lead before Alan Barrett slotted over another point in the 16th minute. The team finally found their shooting boots in the latter end of the first half with Richard Whyte and Paul Broderick scoring excellent points
The second half began with the Ballinabranna- Old Leighlin- Leighlinbridge combination upping the tempo but after Tinryland had weathered the storm Alan Barrett put them on the road to victory with a goal which finished a move involving half a dozen players. Further points from Paul Broderick, Keith Jackson, and Colm Doran (2) put the icing on the cake and Shane O’Neill lifted the O’Gorman cup to the cheers of the large Tinryland support that attended the game played in excellent conditions.
The winning scoreline was Tinryland 1-12 Ml Davitts 0-3.
The full Tinryland panel was as follows: David O’Neill, Mark Dempsey, Peter Doran, David McDonough, Patrick Townsend, Brian Byrne, Evan Doyle, Glen Doyle, Keith Jackson, Padraic Townsend, Shane O’Neill, Richard Whyte, Colm Doran, Paul Broderick, Alan Barrett, Lee Buggle, Ambrose Doran, Mark Doran, Padraig Delaney, Liam Fitzpatrick, Mark Morrissey, Shane Redmond, John Kelly, Joe Mernagh, Shane Browne, Chris Townsend, Declan Redmond, Cian Moore, John Murphy. Well done to the mentors Martin Doyle (Manager), John Doyle, Liam Foster and team trainer Paul Kenny.

(Picture of winning captain Shane O’Neill receiving the O’Gorman Cup from County Board Official Pat Deering)

Another Popular Local winner in Supporters Club draw

For the third successive month there was a popular local winner in the Tinryland G.F.C. supporters club monthly draw when Jim Deane Snr won the top prize of €1000 on Saturday last. Jim follows previous locals Martin Kirwan and Edmund Hayden as winners of the fundraiser, which has a top monthly prize of €1000 with a bumper prize of €5000 on offer for the draw at Christmas. There are still a limited number of places available in the supporters club but it is intended to close the membership for 2006 after the July draw. The next draw will take place on Saturday 3rd June.

Juvenile GAA

Under 12 Division 1 A

Tinryland recorded a 1-10 to 2-4 win over neighbours Palatine in the championship in Tinryland on Saturday. The sides were level at half time with Tinryland edging the second half in what was a very sporting match.

Scores for Tinryland came from Marcus Lawlor (1-3), Barry Power (0-2), Shane Kavanagh, Chris Gaule, Shane Webb, Ciaran Townsend and Cian Lawlor (0-1) each.

Under 12 Division 2

Tinryland had a fine 9-10 to 4-7 win over hosts Grange in Division 2 on Friday last. Both sides made the most of the chances that came their way in the match but Tinryland proved to be the stronger team in the end.
Scores for Tinryland came from Chris Gaule (3-1), Jamie Purcell (2-3), Cathal Whelan (2-1), Brian Mullen (1-1), Kuba Debroch (1-1) and Conor O’Neill (0-3).

Under 16 Division 1A

Tinryland 3-10 Eire Og 1-1

Tinryland laid down a marker in this years McDonalds U16 A Football Championships with a comprehensive victory over Eire Og in Pairc Ui Bhriain on Tuesday last.
The winners were always in control of the game but with the wind advantage were guilty of numerous misses before David O’Shea opened his sides account with a goal in the 10th minute. With the home side still in contention, a golden spell from Tinryland’s Ciaran Williamson between the 18th and the 25th minutes resulted in 2-3 from the opportunist full forward and with further points from Stephen O’Reilly and Cormac Walshe, Eire Og looked like having a mountain to climb.
Fifteen minutes of the second half elapsed before either team registered a score and despite pressure from the home team, Tinryland stretched further clear with a Matthew O’Toole point. Tinryland were now firmly in the driving seat and the boys in blue and white finished the strongest with further scores from Cormac Walshe, David O’Shea and Matthew O’Toole.
Best for the winners were defenders James Dempsey, Luke Doyle, Joey Ryan and Brian Farrell, midfielders Cormac Walshe and Alan Kirwan together with forwards Ciaran Williamson, David O’Shea, Padraig Whelan and Matthew O’Toole.

Tinryland 6-14 Fenagh 2-4

The final scoreline did not do justice to Fenagh in this U16 game in Tinryland on Friday as they held their own with the unbeaten home side for the opening half.
After Tinryland had squandered a number of chances in the opening stages of the match, a well-taken Fenagh goal got the home side moving and points from Stephen O’Reilly, Matthew O’Toole and Darren Murphy drew the sides level. After another Fenagh goal, Darren Murphy put the ball in the Fenagh net to keep the scores even before two Stephen O’Reilly points gave the home side the narrowest of leading margins at half time.
With a wind advantage, Tinryland were a changed side on the resumption and after two early Alan Kirwan points, Tinryland stretched their advantage with goals from Stephen O’Reilly (2) and Ciaran Williamson between the 8th and 15th minutes. It was all Tinryland from then on and further goals from Padraig Whelan and Stephen O’Reilly ended the game as a contest.
Tinryland had outstanding players in Cormac Walshe who controlled midfield together with Alan Kirwan, Stephen O’Reilly who scored 3-4, Michael Mullen, Matthew O’Toole, Brian Farrell and Lee Buggle.

Under 16 Division 2A

Tinryland hosted Michael Davitts in this championship match on Friday last and went on to lose out by 1-12 to 2-6 after a closely contested game.
The half time score was 1-4 to 0-3 in favour of Tinryland but the visitors went on to score some excellent long range points in the 2nd half and were worthy winners. Scores for Tinryland came from Robbie Power (1-1), Mickey Byrne (0-3), Eric Doyle (1-0), Evan Brennan and Robbie Brennan (0-1) each. Brian Deane, Rob Stynes and Kevin Barrett also played well.

Girls Football

Bennekerry/Tinryland Girls Minor Football team had a fine win over Eire Og in the semi-final of the Championships on Thursday last. B/T started the game well, which was played in very cold conditions, and led by 0-7 to 0-4 at the break. After the resumption B/T got the scoring boots going and goals from Aisling Kinsella and Lisa Marie Farrell ensured an impressive win on a score of 2-12 to 1-6.

The team was Clodagh Behan, Carrie Lawlor, Lisa, Emma and Niamh O’Regan (0-4), Sarah and Amy Doyle, Ciara Butler, Samantha Sheehy, Mary Barrett (0-4), Christine Scully (0-1), Sinead Lyons (0-1), Amy Dwyer (0-1), Liz Lowry, Lisa Marie Farrell (1-0). Subs Aisling Kinsella (1-1), Jamie Lee Doyle, Amanda Cassidy, Ciara Jeaney, Bernie Morrissey and Clodagh Condell.
Bennekerry-Tinryland will now play Ballon in the final on a date to be arranged.

Bennekerry-Tinryland Ladies Football Club will have a committee meeting on Tuesday May 16th in the GAA Centre, Rathcrogue at 9 pm.

   Not Logged In