:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2006-04-24= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Monday 24 Apr 2006

LADIES FOOTBALL: Bennekerry-Tinryland Senior Ladies Football team were defeated by a very strong St. Forchtern’s team in the Carlow Championship in Fenagh on Sunday.
In the opening period, B/T stayed close to St. Forchtern’s with scores coming from a goal from a free kick by Emma O’Regan and two points from Sinead Lyons. The half time score was 2-2 to 1-2 in favour of the South Carlow team.
After the break, St. Forchtern’s scored 1-9 without reply and ran out decisive winners on a scoreline of 3-11 to 1-2.

The Bennekerry-Tinryland squad was Clodagh Behan, Carrie Lawlor, Sarah Doyle, Amy Doyle, Emma, Lisa and Niamh O’Regan, Christine Scully, Lisa Marie Farrell, Sinead Lyons, Gloria Nolan, Roisin Cleary, Laura O’Farrell, Caoimhe Whelan, Louise McArdle, Aine Kelly, Aishlinn Whelan and Deirdre Tomlinson.

Bennekerry-Tinryland Minors played Ballinkillen on Wednesday in Fenagh. The team produced a great performance to come back into the match having trailed by 2-0 to 0-2 at half time with Sinead Lyons scoring two points. In the second half further scores came from Sinead Lyons (1-1), Ciara Jeaney (1-0) and Niamh O’Regan (0-1) and with Ballinkillen scoring a total of 1-1, the game ended in a draw.

The team was Clodagh Behan, Lisa, Emma and Niamh O’Regan, Sarah and Amy Doyle, Amy Dwyer, Samantha Sheehy, Carrie Lawlor, Sinead Lyons, Liz Lowry, Ciara Jeaney, Lisa Marie Farrell, Bernie Morrissey, Ciara Butler and Christine Scully.

JUVENILE GAA: Tinryland had a good start in the u12 championship on sat 15th when they came away with a win against O’Hanrahans. Both teams played fast football with good accurate passing for teams of this age. Tinryland led 1-6 to 0-5 at half time and despite the best efforts of O’Hanrahan’s who failed to convert a lot of their chances, Tinryland ran out deserving winners on a scoreline of 3-10 to 1-10.

Scores for Tinryland came from Ciaran Townsend 1-1, Shane Webb 1-0, David O’Neill 1-0, Marcus Lawlor 0-3, Shane Kavanagh 0-2, John O’Dwyer 0-2, Barry Power 0-1 and Cian Lawlor 0-1. Fiach Byrne, Michael Calvey and Diarmuid Walshe also played well.

   Not Logged In