:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2006-01-12= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached images>

GAA News - Thursday 12 Jan 2006


There was a very large turnout for the Tinryland juvenile GFC annual presentation evening on Saturday last. Guest of honour for the occasion was legendary Tipperary All Star footballer Declan Browne who presented awards to over 100 young players.

Awards were presented to players from U.6 up to U.14. During 2005 Tinryland won U.14 championships in two grades while the clubs U.10 squad won the Maurice Nolan tournament for the first time in eleven years. During his speech the current Tipperary captain who brought the Tommy Murphy cup with him encouraged all the young players to continue playing Gaelic football and to be proud in wearing the Tinryland and Carlow jersey. Other speakers on the night included Tinryland juvenile chairman Michael Murphy, Tinryland adult club chairman Brendan Hayden, and Martin Barry chairman of Coisde Na Nog Carlow.

The evening concluded with presentations to long serving Tinryland juvenile officer Paddy Townsend and to Tinryland juvenile secretary Linda Kenny who takes over as adult club secretary for the coming year.

NED AWARDED PRESTIGIOUS AWARD: Long serving Tinryland G.F.C. club-man Ned Deane was awarded the prestigious Setanta prize when the 2005 Co. Carlow sports stars were announced this week. Ned will receive the award in early February for his long and dedicated service to juvenile football in Tinryland and Carlow over the past twenty years. During a distinguished playing career Ned won Carlow senior football championships with Tinryland in 1975, 1979 and 1981. He also has the distinction of being the only Carlow footballer to score 3 goals in an All Ireland final in Croke Park when Carlow defeated Leitrim in the 1972 All Ireland vocational schools final which was played before a National League final between Kerry and Mayo.
Ned Deane is one of the few play-ers from that era who continued to put something back into the game when his own playing career ended and richly deserves this years Setanta award previously won by his club colleague John Doyle of Rathcrogue.
Padraic Townsend and David Donovan will receive the Handball award for their great achievement in winning two National titles during 2005. Both players have been very prominent at underage level in recent years and Padraic from Ballyloo who is an exceptional all round athlete will later this year represent Ireland at the World Handball championships in Canada.

The Carlow Sports Stars will receive their awards on Friday, February 3 at a function in the Seven Oaks Hotel that will be attended by Tyrone football manager Mickey Harte.

MILFORD GAA: Milford GAA Club held their first AGM since the club was reformed in 2005. There was a huge turnout for the meeting and the following were elected: President: Dinny Murphy; Vice Presidents: Sean Doran and Sean Byrne; Chairman: Brendan Murphy; Vice Chairman: Patrick J. Brennan; Secretary Kevin O’Neill; Asst. Secretary: Renee Stafford: Treasurer: Dermot McDon nell; Asst. Treasurer: Kathleen O’Neill; PRO: Keith Moran; Registrars: Peter McEvoy (adults) and Bernie Purcell (juveniles); Committee: Michael Doyle, Eamon Townsend Jnr., Dorry O’Neill, Edward Byrne, Breda Doran, John Ryan, Conor Egan, Alan Costello, Michael Curran, Willian Walsh, Niall Brennan, Ronan Cox and Eamon Townsend Snr.

Anyone interested in joining the club should contact Kevin O’Neill on 087 - 6497623, Brendan Murphy on 087 - 2896433 or for the ladies team Ciara on 087 - 2618624.

TINRYLAND JUVENILE GFC AGM: The A.G.M. of Tinryland Juvenile G.F.C. will take place on Tuesday next, 17th January at 8 p.m. All members and intending members are invited.

   Not Logged In