:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2005-12-24= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached image>

GAA News - Saturday 24 Dec 2005

Large attendance at Tinryland G.F.C. Annual Meeting

One of the largest attendances in recent years saw a number of major changes of officers at the Tinryland G.F.C. A.G.M. held in the clubhouse on Monday 12th December.
Current Carlow G.A.A. board president Brendan Hayden was elected chairman of his native club for a fourth time having held the position on three previous occasions since the mid 1960’s. Brendan replaces David Power who stepped down from the position after one year in office. Current juvenile club secretary Linda Kenny takes over the role of secretary from John Scott who stepped down after three years in the position while Mary Bates assumes the role of assistant to outgoing treasurer Mary Doyle. Legendary Tinryland clubman Tom Doyle who held the purse strings for many years was elected vice president of the club for the first time as was former Tinryland and Carlow player Jim Deane Snr who will also be a vice president for the coming year alongside Fr. John McEvoy and Paddy Regan.
In a very comprehensive report outgoing secretary John Scott reflected on a busy year that saw Tinryland reach the Co. Minor final only to lose narrowly once again to Eire Og.
The senior team after a year blighted by injury survived in the senior ranks in both league and championship while the club fielded two junior teams that helped cater for the large playing pool that is currently available to the club. The outgoing secretary was disappointed at the luke warm response to training by the senior team during the year while he complimented both the juvenile section of the club and the Ladies club for the amount of work that was put in during the past year. John Scott also paid tribute to handballers Padraic Townsend and David Donovan who brought two national handball titles to Tinryland in 2005. Robert O’Neill the clubs scor officer was also praised by the outgoing secretary for his great work in organizing many cultural events for the club.
One of the highlights of the past year was the installation of the new floodlights on the clubs new pitch and there was great excitement on the evening of 26th April when the lights were turned on for the first time.

John in conclusion stated that the future is bright for the club with an abundance of young players coming on stream and the population of the parish increasing at a steady rate. The proposed new motorway which will pass through part of the club was also mentioned in the secretary’s report and John paid tribute to development committee chairman Shay Byrne who has shouldered a lot of the burden in the very difficult negotiations that have taken place and are still ongoing with the N.R.A.
Incoming chairman Brendan Hayden who has been a club member since the 1940’s pledged to do his utmost for 2006 and he asked for all in the club to pull together so that Tinryland will once again make a major impact on the Carlow G.A.A. scene. It is now 25 years since Tinryland won a Carlow S.F.C. and the new chairman felt that with the facilities now available to the club and the number of young players coming on stream there was no reason why Tinryland should not be challenging once again for top honours in Carlow.
In a very detailed financial report outgoing treasurer Mary Doyle highlighted the huge cost involved in running the club for one year stating that the present time is not the most enjoyable time to be a club treasurer in a club the size of Tinryland. Mary also outlined plans for a Tinryland supporters club which is due to be launched in early January and will hopefully raise much needed finance for the everyday running of Tinryland G.F.C.
The following were then elected: President Michael Whelan. Vice Presidents: Fr John McEvoy, Paddy Regan, Tom Doyle, Jim Deane Snr. Chairman : Brendan Hayden. Vice Chairman David Power. Hon Secretary: Linda Kenny. Asst. Secretary: John Scott. Treasurer: Mary Doyle. Asst. Treasurer: Mary Bates. Public Relations Officer: Eamonn Byrne. Registrar Peter Scully. Co. Board Rep: John Scott. Irish Officer: Diarmuid O’Se. Scor Officer: Robert O’Neill.
Executive Committee: Joe Walshe, Ned Deane, Martin Clancy, Shay Byrne, Paddy Townsend, Cormac O’Toole, John Lyons, Pat McArdle, Mick Murphy, John Farrell, Michael Doran, Michael Keyes.

   Not Logged In