:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2005-07-10= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Sunday 10 Jul 2005

Tinryland narrowly denied 2nd successive All Ireland |Feile Title

Tinryland were denied a 2nd successive All Ireland feile title by a kick of a ball at the Gaelic grounds in Limerick on Sunday last. Having overcome Claughan, Ballybrown, New York and Louth champions Geraldines it took a highly competent Shelmaliers from Wexford to stop Tinryland’s march to a second successive All Ireland title.
The feile weekend for Tinryland began on Friday last with a very easy opening victory over their host club Claughan from Limerick city on a scoreline of 1-12 to 0-1. Tinryland’s second outing was another easy challenge for the Tinryland boys when they ran out easy winners against Ballybrown by 4-6 to 0-1.
Tinryland’s next game proved to be their toughest to date and it took a supreme effort from the Carlow representatives to overcome Louth champions Geraldine’s with Tinryland eventually winning by 2-8 to 1-6 despite only scoring a solitary point in the 2nd half. Stars of this win included Darren Murphy, Jeff Sutton, Robbie Brennan, Michael Byrne and Michael Mullen.
The semi final against New York was another close encounter with Tinryland losing by 3 points at half time. A goal from Darren Murphy and points from Michael Mullen edged Tinryland ahead when it mattered and they qualified to meet Wexford club Shelmaliers in Sunday’s final at the famous Limerick Gaelic grounds.
Darren Murphy gave Tinryland a dream start when he pointed after only 2 minutes but Shelmaliers were level within 2 minutes and they took the lead 30 seconds later. Tinryland had three golden goaling opportunities in a 5 minute spell at the end of the first half but Darren Murphy and Jeff Sutton (twice) both missed the bullseye by inches.
In the 2nd half Tinryland outscored the Wexford boys by 1 point but they failed to get the vital goal that would have given the club a historic 2nd successive feile victory.
Despite the defeat the squad can hold their heads up high and no doubt a lot more will be heard from this talented outfit.
The full Tinryland panel was as follows: Lee Buggle, Brian Deane, Robert Stynes, Robert Brennan, Eric Bates, Michael Byrne, Paul Costello, Jeff Sutton, Michael Mullen, Killian Townsend, Evan Brennan, Robbie Power, David Townsend, Darren Murphy, Chris Whelan, Tom Nolan, Dean Farrell, John Doyle, James Murphy, Martin Deane, Darragh Townsend, Patrick Browne, Rory Keenan, Michael Foley, Jason Noctor, Michael Lawler, Kevin Barrett, Patrick Brannigan, Declan Ryan.
Great work was put in by the mentors Michael Murphy, Bernard Mullen, Ned Deane, Eddie Townsend and Alan Doyle.

The girls team opened their feile campaign on Friday when they easily accounted for host team St. Senan’s on a scoreline of 5-10 to 0-0 with Jamie Lee Doyle scoring 2-3 of the total. In their second game they defeated Knockainey from Limerick by 2-5 to 0-1 with scores coming from Amy Dwyer (2-0), Jamie Lee Doyle (0-2), Samantha Sheehy and Zoe Curran (0-1). In their final group game they faced St. Rynagh’s of Offaly. In the first half the Carlow team played well to lead by 3-2 to 1-3 at the break with scores from Aisling Kinsella (1-2), Amy Dwyer (1-0) and Jamie Lee Doyle (1-0). After another goal from Jamie Lee Doyle gave Bennekerry-Tinryland an 8 point lead, the match began to turn with the Offaly team taking advantage of a strong wind to score 3 goals without reply and win the game by 5-4 to 4-2. Unfortunately this proved to be the final game of the tournament for B/T.
The panel was Aisling Kinsella, Paula Murphy, Aoife Byrne, Niamh Walshe, Niamh Mullins, Jamie Lee Doyle, Kate Dooley, Liz Lowry, Zoe Curran, Amy Dwyer, Ciara Butler, Shauna Fitzpatrick, Danielle Power, Caoimhe Townsend, Samantha Sheehy. Subs Katie Doyle, Amanda Kinsella, Niamh Redmond, Rebecca Fields, Jessica O’Neill, Dearbhla Kelly and Vivienne Nolan.

Congratulations are extended to Aisling Kinsella for coming 3rd in the Skills Competition. She was presented with a special trophy in recognition of this achievement.
Credit is due to coaches Martin Doyle, Sean Lowry, Fran Mullins and Pat McArdle and all the committee and supporters who travelled with the team.

   Not Logged In