:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2005-05-14= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Saturday 14 May 2005

Successful week for Tinryland Football teams

The past week was a very busy and successful one for Tinryland teams both at adult and juvenile level. The week began on bank holiday Monday when Tinryland footballer Colm Doran helped Knockbeg college lift the All Ireland colleges (A) championship in Thurles against St. Mary’s of Galway. Colm scored 0-1 in the final, which was televised on TG4. On that evening the U14 team fresh from their success at the Carlow feile final began the defence of their McDonald’s Co. U14 (A) title with a very easy win over Miseal. Outstanding in this game for Tinryland were Lee Buggle, Paul Costello, Darren Murphy, Robbie Brennan, Evan Brennan, Jeff Sutton, Michael Mullen and Brian Deane. On Tuesday at Pairc Ui Bhrian Tinryland seniors showed a marked improvement from their recent performances to only lose to Eire Og by three points in the S.F.L. division 1.
On Wednesday evening Tinryland Junior (A) squad easily defeated Leighlinbridge at Ballinaboley with an outstanding performance from Paul Kenny who scored 8 points of his sides 2-15 total.
Thursday evening saw the U10 team in action against Michael Davitts in the Maurice Nolan cup and the match ended on a winning note for this very promising team.
The U16 No. 2 team made their debut in the division 2 championship on Friday evening and after a great game the lads emerged victorious against Clonegal on a score of 3-6 to 1-8. Outstanding in this game for Tinryland were Brian Farrell, Joey Ryan, Ciaran Williamson, Padraic Whelan, Bobby Whelan, Darren Hanlon, Michael Pender and goalie Lee Buggle.
There was a big interest in the Junior (B) squad’s game on Saturday evening with the opposition being provided by recently reformed Milford. Added interest was added when Rory Delaney lined out for Milford with his brother Colm making an appearance for Tinryland. On the night Tinryland proved too strong for Milford running out winners on a scoreline of 3-18 to 0-3. Former senior players Brendan Doyle, Bernard Mullen, Shay Byrne, Paddy Delaney, Paul Foley and John Murphy lined out for last Saturday’s game and linked up very well with young players like Padraig Townsend, Garry Fields, Keith Jackson, Liam Fitzpatrick and Barry Doyle.
On Sunday evening Tinryland minors scored a three point victory over neighbours Palatine in the M.F.L. Tinryland led by one point at half time and after Palatine had edged ahead Glen Doyle scored a brilliant individual goal mid way through the second half to seal the Tinryland victory.

On Saturday evening at Rathcrogue at 6 p.m. the u12s will host Eire Og. Monday evening will see two Tinryland U14 teams in action with the No.1 team away to Muinebheag at 7 30 p.m. and the No. 2 team away to Eire Og at the same time.

Fundraisers planned for All Ireland Feile team

A number of fundraisers are being planned to cover the cost of the forthcoming trip to the All Ireland feile in Limerick next July.
A sponsored cycle around the parish has been organised for Sunday afternoon the 29th May. The Tinryland juvenile G.F.C. race night has been fixed for Friday 3rd June and some of the proceeds of this event will also be directed towards the Feile Trip. The following players will travel to the Feile: Lee Buggle, Brian Deane, Robert Stynes, Robbie Brennan, Eric Bates, Michael Mullen, Paul Costello, Michael Byrne, Jeff Sutton, Robert Power, Evan Brennan, Michael Lawlor, Kris Whelan, Darren Murphy, Killian Townsend, Tom Nolan, Jason Noctor, David Townsend, John Doyle, Dean Farrell, Patrick Browne, Declan Ryan, Michael Foley, James Murphy, Dara Townsend, and Martin Deane.

Ladies Football

Bennekerry/Tinryland Under 14 Girls qualified for the Feile Tournament for the 3rd successive year after defeating O’Hanrahan’s by 4-10 to 4-1 in a very exciting game of football last week. B/T started very well with some good scores and led by 2-7 to 0-0 at the interval. In the second period, O’Hanrahan’s came out very strongly and scored some fine goals but B/T were stronger in the closing stages and following scores from Jamie Lee Doyle, Aisling Kinsella, Zoe Curran and Niamh Walshe, they emerged as worthy winners.
The team was Shauna Fitzpatrick, Aoife Byrne, Ciara Butler, Caoimhe Townsend, Amy Dwyer, Paula Murphy, Samantha Sheehy, Kate Dooley, Danielle Power (0-2), Jamie Lee Doyle (1-3), Zoe Curran (0-2), Niamh Walshe (2-0), Liz Lowry (1-0), Aisling Kinsella (0-3) and Niamh Mullins. Subs Rebecca Fields, Niamh Redmond, Amanda Kinsella, Katie Doyle and Vivienne Nolan.
Great credit is due to coaches Martin Doyle, Sean Lowry and Fran Mullins.

Bennekerry/Tinryland are Minor League Champions again after defeating Ballinkillen/Newtown on a score of 3-8 to 1-4. B/T started the game well with Sinead Lyons dominating at midfield and with fine goals coming from Laura O’Farrell and Christine Scully; the half time score was 2-5 to 1-1. B/T maintained this lead in the 2nd half and eventually won by 3-8 to 1-4. The B/T panel was Sinead Lyons, Christine Scully, Sarah Doyle, Ciara Butler, Carrie Lawlor, Niamh O’Regan, Emma O’Regan, Simone Kelly, Roisin Cleary, Caoimhe Whelan, Laura O’Farrell, Lisa Farrell, Amy Doyle, Gloria Nolan and Clodagh Behan. Subs Deirdre Doyle, Audrey Brown, Bernie Morrissey, Lisa O’Regan, Aisling Kinsella, Liz Lowry, Aideen Byrne and Paula Murphy.
Great credit to Peenie Whelan, Pat McArdle and Fran Mullins.

   Not Logged In