:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2005-05-08= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Sunday 8 May 2005

Tinryland qualify for All Ireland Feile for 2nd successive year

For the second successive year Tinryland G.F.C. will represent Carlow at the All Ireland Feile Peil na Nog following an emphatic win over Eire Og in the Carlow hurling club grounds on Thursday last. This years crop of U14s included 4 of last years All Ireland winning panel in their ranks and they proved too strong for the Eire Og boys winning on a final score of 6-9 to 0-5. Tinryland playing against the wind led by 3-4 to 0-4 at half time with full forward Darren Murphy scoring the entire Tinryland total in that opening half. The game was barely 10 seconds old when Darren slotted over Tinryland’s opening point and within 30 seconds he had the ball in the Eire Og net to give the defending feile champions the best possible start.
When the half time whistle was sounded Tinryland led by 3-4 to 0-4 and it was obvious that Eire Og would have an uphill battle playing against the strong breeze in the second half. On the resumption Michael Mullen who had a tremendous game throughout slotted over a Tinryland point within 40 seconds and further points from Darren Murphy, Jeff Sutton and Evan Brennan put Tinryland out of sight and on the road to Limerick where this years feile will be held in July. Further second half goals
from sub John Doyle, Michael Mullen and Robbie Power crowned a great Tinryland performance and the dream of a third All Ireland feile win is still alive. For the duration of the All Ireland Feile which takes place from July 1st to July 3rd Tinryland will be hosted by the Claughan club from Limerick city. Tinryland had outstanding performers in goalkeeper and captain Lee Buggle, Brian Deane, Paul Costello, Evan Brennan, Jeff Sutton, Michael Mullen, Darren Murphy and Robert Power.
The full Tinryland panel was Lee Buggle, Brian Deane, Robert Stynes, Robbie Brennan, Eric Bates, Michael Mullen, Paul Costello, Michael Byrne, Jeff Sutton, Robert Power, Evan Brennan, Michael Lawlor, Kris Whelan, Darren Murphy, Killian Townsend, Tom Nolan, David Townsend, John Doyle, Dean Farrell, Patrick Browne, Declan Ryan, Michael Foley, James Murphy, Dara Townsend and Martin Deane.
Well done to the management team of Michael Murphy, Bernard Mullen, Eddie Townsend, Ned Deane and Alan Doyle.
Tinryland U16 footballers lost out to a very strong O’Hanrahans outfit in the 2nd round of the McDonalds U16 division 1A championship at Deerpark on Friday last. Tinryland were forced to line out without a number of key players for this match and despite scoring 13 points were decisively beaten by 6-11 to 0-13. The U16 division 2 fixture with Clonegal was deferred due to a bereavement in the Wexford border club.

Floodlights turned on for the first time on new football pitch

Tinryland G.F.C. members were unanimous in their approval for the new state of the art floodlighting system on the new playing pitch at Rathcrogue, which was turned on for the first time last week. Installed by local firm Seamus Byrne Electrical L.T.D. the new lights will enable matches to be played over a 12 month period on the excellent new pitch which is almost ready for use. It is expected that the first games will be played during the Autumn when the sand based grass surface is fully mature.

Michael Lyster to play in Tinryland G.F.C. Golf Classic at Mount Wolseley

R.T.E. sports personality Michael Lyster will be the guest celebrity at the 4th annual Tinryland G.F.C. golf classic, which will take place at Mount Wolseley golf club Tullow on Tuesday next 10th May. Over 120 players representing 30 teams have already registered for this very popular fundraiser, which brings together present and past members to raise badly needed funds for the ongoing development at the club.
The event will begin at 1 p.m. with a shotgun start. A limited number of positions are still available for the event, which costs €400 per team of four including a 4 course meal.

   Not Logged In