:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2004-12-13= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

GAA News - Monday 13 Dec 2004

New Chairman will be elected at Tinryland G.F.C. A.G.M. next Monday

Tinryland football club will have a new chairman from Monday next when outgoing chairman Ned Deane steps down at the Annual General meeting. During a very successful three years in the position Ned presided over many developments for the club on and off the field. Winning Carlow championships at U21, Intermediate and Junior level were some of the success stories from the playing fields while the juvenile section of the club also moved up a few gears during that period. Away from the competitive action major developments took place in the clubhouse while the development of a new floodlit pitch up to top playing standard is now in the latter stages. Delegates to next Mondays meeting will review a very successful 2004 that saw Tinryland return to senior ranks following 6 seasons in the Intermediate grade.
Tinryland also won the A.I.B. club of the year award for Carlow during the outgoing Chairmans term of office.
With many of the recent fine juvenile footballers now coming through to adult level hopes are high that Tinryland will once again be a force in the top grade of Carlow football. Next Mondays A.G.M. will begin at 7.30 p.m. with Mass for deceased members. Only full members of the club will be entitled to vote on the night.

Christmas entertainment in Tinryland G.F.C.

Tinryland G.F.C. recently announced its entertainment programme for the upcoming Christmas holiday period. On Saturday 18th December the annual members night will be held with music being provided by Penny Lane. On that night also the Christmas draw will be held. The childrens Christmas party takes place on Sunday 19th December between 6.30 p.m. and 9 00 p.m. Traditional music will be provided in the lounge between 4 p.m. and 6 p.m. on that Sunday evening also.
Among the items lined up for St. Stephens day are a mixed Gaelic football match and a traditional music session. The annual Tinryland A.C. turkey trot road race also takes place at 12 a.m. on St Stephens day and the prizes will be presented afterwards in the G.A.A. club. On New Years Eve a function will be held to ring in 2005 with music being provided by Highway Express. Admission by ticket only costing €10.
The annual juvenile presentation evening will be held on Friday 14th January when Kerry captain Dara O’Cinneide will bring the Sam Maguire cup to the clubhouse at 6 p.m. The Tinryland G.F.C. dinner dance has been fixed for Friday 18th February at the Seven Oaks hotel with music by top entertainers Vegas Nights. There is sure to be a big demand for tickets for this years dinner dance following the very successful performances by Tinryland teams during 2004.

Tinryland add division 2 league title to Intermediate championship

Tinryland Intermediate footballers wound up a great year for the club by adding the S.F.L. division 2 title to the championship crown against a determined Grange at Dr. Cullen Park on Sunday. A champagne opening 25 minutes by the men in blue and white laid the foundations for this win. In that period, Tinryland scored eight points without reply and enabled them to have enough deposited in the bank when the Grange men finally found their stride 10 minutes into the second half.
The game was only thirty seconds old when Colm Doran slotted over the opening point for the winners following good work by midfielder Evan Doyle. Ciaran Pender was wide with Grange’s first real effort before Tinryland sharpshooter Paul Broderick scored the first of his eight points from a free. It was all Tinryland at this stage and Tinryland had a real goaling chance in the 9th minute when wingback Noel Scully had his point blank shot brilliantly stopped by Louis Kilcoyne in the Grange goal.
The resulting ’45 was once again converted by Broderick before Paul Doyle put his side 4 clear with a point from an acute angle in the 13th minute. Paul Broderick further underlined his class one minute later with another superb point followed by another great Paul Doyle effort, which put Tinryland six points clear. It was all Tinryland at this stage with the Grange men having no answer to the more alert Tinryland men who were 8 points ahead after 22 minutes following further points from the two Pauls,
Doyle and Broderick.
Grange finally got on the scoreboard when David James converted a free in the 27th minute and within one minute Tom Dillon had doubled their account before Paul Doyle who was back to form in a big way closed the first half scoring with another point out of the top drawer.
The second half was only 30 seconds old when John Doyle scored Tinryland’s 10th point and when Paul Broderick raised three more white flags by the 39th minute Tinryland were coasting with an eleven point advantage.
It was then that Grange finally woke from their slumbers and after corner forward Stephen Doyle had narrowly missed raising a green flag David James slotted over his sides third point following a pick up by a Tinryland defender. Within 2 minutes the margin was reduced to 7 points when Niall Byrne crashed home a Grange goal which finally brought this game to life. David James and James O’Toole cut the deficit to 5 points by the 45th minute as Grange began exerting maximum pressure on the Tinryland defence. It was now that the Tinryland back line had to stand up and be counted and Chris Cleary, Kevin O’Neill, P.J. Murphy, Willie Power, Noel Scully and Mark Doran answered Tinryland’s call in a big way during that dominant spell by Grange. Two Tinryland points from Paul Broderick and sub Alan Barrett steadied the Tinryland ship by the 56th minute before another mini revival from Grange yielded a hat trick of points from David James (2) and Paddy Kelly before referee P.J. Reamsbottom sounded the final whistle.
The winners won the cup through an all round team performance that saw all six defenders well supported by goalkeeper J.J. Doran together with midfielders Evan Doyle and Garry Morrissey. Up front the lethal duo of Paul Broderick and Paul Doyle
were backed up by John Doyle, Colm Doran, Shane O’Neill and hard working veteran Paul Kenny.
Tinryland: J.J.Doran, Mark Doran, Chris Cleary, P.J. Murphy, Noel Scully, Willie Power, Kevin O’Neill, Evan Doyle, Garry Morrissey, Paul Broderick 0-8, John Doyle 0-1, Colm Doran 0-1, Shane O’Neill, Paul Doyle 0-4, Paul Kenny. Subs Alan Barrett 0-1, and David McDonough.

   Not Logged In