:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2004-12-04= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached images>

GAA News - Saturday 4 Dec 2004

Tinryland Under 13’s win Winter League

By virtue of a one-point margin at the end of great game with Athy, Tinryland won the inaugural Tinryland Juvenile GFC Winter League Final at Rathcrogue on Sunday last. Midway through the second half of last Sunday’s game, Athy led the home side by 3 points but a Jeff Sutton goal turned the tide in the home teams favour and the Tinryland lads had one point to spare at the final whistle. Jeff Sutton was one of the many stars of last Sundays win and he was well supported by Michael Mullen, Paul Costello, Eric Bates, Darren Murphy, goalkeeper Lee Buggle, Michael Lawlor and sub David Townsend. Five teams took part in the league, which was held over three Sundays. At the presentation afterwards the Ned Feeney Cup was presented on behalf of the Feeney family by Pat McArdle to the Tinryland captain Lee Buggle. The final score at the end of the game was 1-8 to 1-7. Well done to the Tinryland back up team of Michael Murphy, Bernard Mullen, Ned Deane and Eddie Townsend for their efforts with the team.

Tinryland Intermediate Footballers hope to end a great 2004 on a winning note when they play Grange in the SFL Division 2 final this coming weekend. Unbeaten in all eight of their league fixtures, the team defeated Naomh Eoin in the league semi-final 3 weeks ago in their first game since winning the Intermediate Championship. Since then the team fell at the first hurdle to Erins Own in the Leinster Intermediate Championship and will have to show improvement if they are to defeat Grange.
The Annual General meeting of Tinryland G.F.C. will take place on Monday 13th December preceded by Mass for deceased members at 7.30 p.m. Only fully paid up members are entitled to vote at this meeting.

Pictures enclosed of

1. Tinryland Under 13 Captain Lee Buggle being presented with Ned Feeney Cup by Pat McArdle

2. The Tinryland Under 13 team which won the Winter League Tournament.

   Not Logged In