:: you are here: home > sport > gaa > 2004-05-12= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached images>

GAA News - Wednesday 12 May 2004

Tinryland U14 Boys team reach Feile Peil Na nOg finals in Tyrone

Underage football in Tinryland got a great boost last week when the U14 boys team qualified in fine style for the 23rd Feile Peile na nOg 2004 to be held in Co. Tyrone in early July. The Tinryland boys were in a class of their own in last weeks qualifiers handing out comprehensive defeats to Michael Davitts, O’Hanrahans and Eire Og and in the process reaching the Feile which the club last won at national level in 1999.
Tinryland amassed an amazing 12 goals and 62 points in the three 40 minute Carlow qualifiers and they will travel to the home of the current All Ireland champions with high hopes of doing well in the division 4 section where the team will be based in the rural village of Kildress. Tinryland’s hosts will be the local Wolfe Tones club and the other teams in the group will be fellow Tyrone club Rock and London. To progress in the Feile the club will have to top their group. Bennekerry-Tinryland girls U14 team have also qualified for the Feile and they will be based in Coalisland for the duration of the competition. The annual Tinryland juvenile G.F.C. race night will be held on Friday 4th June and part of the proceeds will be used to offset the cost of travelling to the Feile in Tyrone and kitting out the team.
Forthcoming juvenile GAA fixtures:
Friday 14th May U16s away to Eire Og 7.30 p.m.
Saturday 15th May U12s away to Eire Og 6.p.m.
Monday 17th May U14 (a) team home to Muinebheag 7.30 p.m.
Monday 17th May U14 (b) team away to Asca 7.30 p.m.

Double glory in Community Games Football

There was double success over the weekend when both Bennekerry/Tinryland Boys Under 10 and Girls Under 12 Football teams won their Carlow Community Games Competitions.
The Boys Under 10 team played Ballon in the first round on Saturday. This was a closely contested game with B/T playing some nice football with points coming from Ciaran Townsend, Marcus Lawlor, Diarmuid Walshe and goals from Christophe Chall and Ciaran Townsend.
The half time score was B/T 2-4 Ballon 0-4.
In the second half more scores came from Colin Townsend Conor O’Neill, Diarmuid Walshe and David O’Neill. The final score was B/T 4-7 Ballon 0-7.
B/T then played Graiguecullen in the semi-final and after a great showing, B/T advanced to the final on a score of 4-8 to 1-0.
They then came up against Askea in the final and this was a cracking game of football with some good play from both sides. It was a very close match with the lead changing a number of times but B/T came out on top with a great team performance. The Final score was 4-3 to 1-6
Marcus Lawlor was awarded player of the tournament from the
county officers.
The team was Michael Calvey, Diarmuid Walshe, Marcus Lawlor, David O’Neill, Harry Hennessey, Cian Lawlor, Gary Scully, Stephen Hanlon, Colin Townsend, Ciaran Townsend, Christophe Chall, Mark Rennick, C O’Neill, Evan Gordon, Laurence McGrath, Jack Brennan and Shane Webb.

The team was coached by Jody Townsend, Eddie Townsend and Niall Rennick.

The girls Under 12 team played Askea in the semi-final with this being a very fast game with both teams playing good football. B/T scores came from Leanne Walshe and Niamh Redmond. The half time score was 4-2 to3-2 and B/T dominated in the second scoring fine points. The final score was B/T 5-5 Askea 3-4
The girls played Borris in the final and scored 12 fine points from
Niamh Walshe Amanda Kinsella Aoife Byrne Sara Rennick and Roisin Breheny. B/T eventually won out on a score line 0-12 to 1-2.
This was a great team performance and the team was Rebecca Fields, Aoife Byrne, Niamh Walshe, Niamh Redmond, Caoimhe Townsend, Shauna Fitzpatrick, Tanya Curran, Leanne Walshe, Amanda Kinsella, Cadi Lennon, Vivienne Nolan, Rebecca Nolan, Sara Rennick, Orna O’Doherty, Emma Shannon, Roisin Breheny, Jemina Kirwan, Caoimhe McCreanor, Linda Kinsella and Keeva Kavanagh
Eddie Corcoran was coach of this team.

Both of these teams will now progress to the first round of Leinster competition.

   Not Logged In