:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2013-11-28= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Thursday 28 Nov 2013

Successful Year Reviewed at AGM

The Bennekerry/Tinryland Community Games AGM was held in Tinryland Parish Hall on Tuesday last. Hon. Sec. Jennifer McAteer presented a very comprehensive report on Area 11's many activities during 2013. Pride of place went to the area retaining the Garda Siochana trophy for the best presented area at the Co. Athletic finals. The involvement trophy was presented to club officers in Derry on Saturday night last . She congratulated the athletes who won medals in both County and National finals. The draughts teams are already in training for the 2014 competitions. The finals of handwriting, indoor soccer and draughts will all be contested in January.

Officers elected:

President: Rev Liam Morgan
Vice-Pres: Mrs Ann Brennan
Chairperson: Mrs Stephanie O'Brien
Vice-Chair: Leah Mullins
Hon. Sec.: Mrs Jennifer McAteer
Ass. Sec: Mr Terry Cassidy
Treasurer: Mrs Ravina Ryan
Ass. Treasurer: Mrs Marguerite Mullen
PRO: Mark Shannon
Child Officer: Mrs Martina Kenny
Dev. Officer: Mr Eddie Corcoran
Youth Officer: Mrs Aoife Ryan
Michael Brennan, Peter Scully, James Malone, Greg Doyle, Carmel Farrell , Denis Shannon and Mairead Breen

There were a number of fine performances by local athletes Tommy Payne and Denis Shannon of Tinryland ACat the British and Irish Masters Cross Country Championships in Bute, Park, Cardiff on Saturday last. Running in the M55 Category, Tommy ran a fine run to finish 2nd overall behind Robert Atkinson of England and was the first Irishman home in his section, leading the team of Martin McDonald, Laois 4th and John Collins 11th to silver medals. In the M60 event, Denis Shannon was 15th overall and 3rd Irishman home and won silver medal in the team event with team mates Martin McEvilly 1st and Liam O'Hare 9th. England won all team sections on the day apart from in one event. Hopes are high that there will be a large representation of local athletes on the Irish teams for next year's championships in Nottingham where athletes from the UK and Ireland compete as other locals such as Pat Byrne, Eddie Walsh and JJ Murphy have represented Irish teams in recent years.

   Not Logged In