:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2012-09-19= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Wednesday 19 Sep 2012

Lawlor and Long Take Autumn League Titles

Danny Lawlor and Brid Long of LOT were both first time winners in their respective sections
following the completion of the Tinryland AC Autumn Fun League over 2 miles sponsored
by Jason Farrell Sports on Friday last.

In winning his third consecutive stage, LOT youngster Lawlor continued his fine run of recent form
and was a deserving winner of the league. Lawlor's time of 10 mins 04 was 6 seconds ahead of runner
up Colin Payne with the experienced Wexford athlete Tommy McElwaine taking 3rd position on the night.
In 4th was Tommy Payne ahead of Eoin Brett of Newbridge and Larry Murphy. In the overall section Lawlor
was ahead of Tommy McElwaine and Tommy Payne while James Moore of St. Abban's took the Junior Mens Award.
Larry Murphy was a fine winner of the Masters Section ahead of Jerry O'Sullivan while Darren Amond led the An Post to the team title ahead of Greenbank.

In the Ladies Section, Laura Delaney was 1st home on the night in 12 mins 44 ahead of Ruth Kennedy and
Elaine Cardiff of Kilmore but LOT athlete Brid Long came out on top over the 3 stages ahead of Cardiff
and Karen Kavanagh of LOT. Muireann O'Sullivan won the Junior Ladies event while other prizes were won by Suzanne Dunne and June Murphy in the Masters sections.

The following are the results:


1st- Danny Lawlor (LOT) 10.02 ,2nd- Colin Payne (Tinryland) 10.10 3rd-Tommy McElwaine (SBR) 10.12 4th-Tommy Payne (Tinryland) 10.23 5th-Eoin Brett (Newbridge) 10.45 6th-Larry Murphy (Tinryland) 10.52


1st-Laura Delaney (LOT) 12.44 2nd- Ruth Kennedy 12.59 3rd-
Elaine Cardiff 13.02

Overall- Men- 1st- Lawlor 3 pts 2nd McElwaine 9 pts 3rd- Payne 12 pts
Women 1st- Long 2nd- Cardiff 3rd Kavanagh

After the final stage there was the prizegiving ceremony where the
Seamus Galway Memorial Trophy was presented to overall winner Danny Lawlor
O'Neill by Paddy Galway. Certificates with times were given to all
finishers along with tshirts. Great credit is due to all who took part
in this year's league along with organisers Sean Doyle, Pat and Carol
Byrne along with overall sponsor Jason Farrell who once again made a
great contribution to this year's league. This years league attracted
the most overall participants to date with in excess of 140
competitors taking part over the course of the 3 stages.

10.04 Daniel Lawler SLOT Male Jnr
10.10 Colin Payne Tinryland Male Snr
10.12 Tommy Mcelwaine SBR Male Vet
10.23 Tommy Payne Tinryland Male Vet
10.45 Eoin Brett Newbridge Male Snr
10.52 Larry Murphy Tinryland Male vet
10.52 Francis Gahan n/a Male Snr
11.03 James Moore St Abbans Male Jnr
11.13 Jerry O'Sullivan Tinryland Male Vet
11.18 David Lawler SLOT Male Jnr
11.29 Daire O'Rourke SLOT Male Snr
11.31 Francesco Antonio VisentinAthletica Amatori Velletri Male Jnr
11.34 Darren Amond An Post Male Vet
11.45 Declan Gough St. Lazerians Male Jnr
11.46 Joe Curran St Abbans
11.48 Eddie Shaw An Post Male Vet
11.53 Bobby Byrne Lalor o'Shea Male Senr
12.09 Colin Tobin Gowran Male snr
12.12 Patrick Bolt Quirke Tinryland GAA Male Jnr
12.15 Brian Dermody
12.16 Pat ryan Oglesby & Butler Male Vet
12.18 Conor Cleary SLOT Male Jnr
12.24 Peter Baldwin Ballinabranna Male Vet
12.30 Sean Brennan Tinryland Male Jnr
12.32 PJ Doyle Sli Cualann MaleVet
12.37 Aidan Coony n/a Male Vet
12.39 Leon Gordon Gowran Male Jnr
12.41 Denis Shannon Tinryland Male Vet
12.44 Mary Doyle Greenbank Female Snr
12.46 Paul Murphy Greenbank Male Vet
12.58 Jamie O'Brien Tinryland Male Snr
12.59 Laura Delaney SLOT Female Snr
13.00 Cormac Griffin SLOT Male Jnr
13.01 Mick Long SLOT Male Vet
13.02 Elaine Cardiff Kilmore AC Female Snr
13.03 Mark Shannon Tinryland Male Senior
13.04 Muireann O'Sullivan Tinryland Female Jnr
13.05 Michelle Brennan Tinryland Female Jnr
13.09 Karen Kavanagh SLOT Female Snr
13.11 John Cassidy Bagenalstown Male Senior
13.12 An other
13.15 Brid Long SLOT Female Vet
13.23 Marty Kelly Gowran Male Vet
13.28 Louise Oprea Greenbank Female Snr
13.42 Sarah dermody Tinryland Female Jnr
13.44 Mary Boylan Ballinabranna Female Vet
13.45 Richard Brennan Tinryland Male Vet
13.47 Kevin Cuddy Tinryland Male Vet
13.50 Patrick Kinsella SLOT Male Senior
14.00 Tanya Curran Tinryland Female
14.01 Brian O'Rourke SLOT Male Snr
14.06 James O'Rourke An Post Male Vet
14.08 Jenny Martin SLOT Female Snr
14.09 Suzanne Dunne SLOT Female Vet
14.10 Deirdre Casey SLOT Female Snr
14.11 Lynda Fay St Fiaacc's Female Snr
14.12 Eugene Kirwan SLOT Male Vet
14.13 Mary Doyle Greenbank Female Snr
14.14 June Murphy SLOT Female Vet
14.18 Anne Cassidy Bagenalstown Female Vet
14.19 Terry Cassidy n/a Male vet
14.21 Wayne Fennell SLOT
14.22 Michael Lyons Fit2go Bootcamp Male Vet
14.23 Kevin Tobin n/a Male Snr
14.28 Niall Shannon Tinryland
14.29 Derek Coyle Greenbank Male vet
14.30 Cormac kelly Male Jnr
14.42 Aoibhinn McInerney SLOT Female Snr
14.49 Fiona Ruth Female Snr
14.53 AN OTHER
14.59 Clodagh Long Slot Female Jnr
15.12 Deorah collier SLOT Female Senior
15.13 Finn Mchale SLOT Male Jnr
15.14 Beth Fennell Slot Female Jnr
15.17 Kate Gaynor SLOT Female Snr
15.17 Rachel Bowe SLOT Female Snr
15.22 Eimear Gilmartin SLOT Female Snr
15.28 Gavin Fraser Greenbank Male Vet
15.41 Caroline Connolly n/a Female Vet
16.02 Laura Murphy Tinryland Female Jnr
16.08 William Doyle n/a Male Vet
16.37 Angela Gordon Gowran Female Vet
16.43 Maria Kinsella SLOT Female snr
17.10 Patricia Ammond SLOT Female Vet
17.10 Grace Lawlor SLOT
19.22 Ger Keogh Myshal Male Vet
19.22 Ann Brennan Tinryland Female Vet
21.30 Caroline Kelly n/a Female Vet

   Not Logged In