:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2012-08-26= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Sunday 26 Aug 2012

McCarthy Takes Rockford Run

Irish international David McCarthy of West Waterford, won the 33rd Annual Tinryland AC Rockford road run with a magnificent display on Sunday last. From the start of the race which was held in very warm conditions, a breakaway group moved clear consisting of McCarthy, last year's winner Brian Maher of Kilkenny City Harriers, Clare native Sean Hehir running in the colours of Rathfarnham and Paddy Hamilton of Annadale Striders, Belfast. Following the 2 Mile mark, Mccarthy broke away from early leaders Maher and Hehir with an injection of pace heading up towards the summit of Ballyloo Hill and was swiftly followed by Hamilton and the chasing group. On reaching the 3 mile mark at Linkardstown, McCarthy, who ran 3 mins 55 secs for the 1 mile in New York earlier this year, showed his class by producing a further burst of speed and steadily increased his lead all the way to the finish, winning in a time of 18 mins 45. McCarthy's time was the 2nd fastest in the history of the race and is the best mark to date on the newly measured IAAF 4 Mile Course. A graduate student of Providence College, Rhode Island, McCarthy has been in stunning form this year and narrowly missed out on qualification for the 1500m in the London Olympics having also won medals in the European Under 23 5000m and Cross Country as part of Irish teams in 2009 and 2010. In this current year he has also posted international standard time of 3 mins 40 for 1500m and 7 mins 57 for 3000m. In second position was top Northern Athlete Hamilton who ran consistently throughout in a time of 19 mins 12 with last year's runner up Hehir 3rd in 19 mins 16. In 4th position was Maher in 19 mins 44 with the very impressive Eddie O'Neill of the host club taking the Pat Corcoran Memorial Trophy for first Carlow athlete with a 5th place finish in 20 mins 13 just ahead of Simon Ryan of Raheny in 20 mins 14. Brian Leahy of Raheny took 7th in 20 mins 51 ahead of Rathfarnham duo Paul Fleming 8th and Jason Reid 9th with Pat Byrne occupying 10th position.
The Masters over 40 section was won by Tommy McElwaine of SBR with Paul Cowhie of Civil Service and the excellent Tommy Payne of Tinryland winning the over 45 and 50 sections respectively. The Junior mens event was won by the promising Kevin Brennan of St Abbans .The team event was won by Rathfarnham on 40 pts with Raheny second on 42 pts and Tinryland 3rd on 55 pts with the scorers being O'Neill 5th, Byrne 10th, Colin Payne 19th and Tommy Payne 21st. Other local athletes who performed well on the day included Eddie Walsh 38th and 3rd over 50, John Dillon 42nd, John Joe Murphy (over 60 winner) and Jeremiah O'Sullivan.
In a depleted womens race the experienced Raheny athlete Annette Kealy produced another outstanding display to win for the second year in succession in a time of 23 mins 11 well ahead of Lucy Darcy of Sportsworld in 24 mins 41 and Teresa Agar of St Abbans in 25 mins 34. There were also good winning runs in the Womens Masters sections by winners Anne Murphy (FV35), Mairead Moore (FV40), Miriam McCormack (FV45) and the outstanding Ann Sullivan of DMP (FV50) who also the 3rd individual Senior athlete home in 24 mins 11. St. Abban's took the womens section.
This year's event was again a major success with a very large turnout of over 240 athletes, fun runners and walkers. The event had many features including an online entry facility, electronic chip timing, race clock, water stations along the route, live music along with a special draw for finishers after the race with many excellent spot prizes on offer. The winner of the main prize was Adam Murphy, Tinryland GFC, (1,000 Euro Holiday Voucher), with a Colour Television, Weekend Away, Jewellery Voucher and Digital Camera also being given out. The prize-giving and showing of the race video took place afterwards in Tinryland GAA Centre, Rathcrogue. Prior to the race the Rockford Mini Marathon was held for juveniles between the ages of 8 and 15 with over 60 competitors taking part with Niall Harvey of LOT proving to be an excellent winner in a time of 5 mins 28 for the 1 mile course. Great credit is due to race director Sean Doyle and his team of local organisers in particular Pat and Carol Byrne who were responsible for the widespread promotion of the race with posters, features in the local media, a facebook page which contained a large number of photos, the caterers and stewards for the vast amount of work put in over the last few months which ensured the event was such a success and showed that this will be a fixture to be reckoned with on the Irish athletics calendar for a long time to come.

The following are the top finishers:
Senior Men
1st- David McCarthy (West Waterford) 18.45 2nd- Paddy Hamilton (Annadale Striders) 19.12 3rd- Sean Hehir(Rathfarnham) 19.16 4th- Brian Maher (KCH) 19.44 5th- Eddie O'Neill (Tinryland) 20.13 6th- Simon Ryan (Rathfarnham) 20:14 7th- Brian Leahy (Raheny) 20:51 8th- Paul Fleming (Rathfarnham) 20:54 9th- Jason Reid (Rathfarnham) 20.56 10th- Pat Byrne (Tinryland) 20.59

Senior Women
1st- Annette Kealy (Raheny) 23.11 2nd- Lucy Darcy (Sportsworld) 24.41 3rd- Ann Sullivan (DMP) 25.14 4th- Teresa Agar (St.Abban's) 25.34 5th- Breda Mulcahy (St. Abban's) 26:25 6th- Sheelagh Jones (DSD) 26:45
Mini Rockford 1 Mile:
1st- Niall Harvey (LOT) 5:28 2nd- Oran O'Flaherty (LOT) 5:38 3rd- Cian Kelly (St.Abban's) 5:39

Results available at this link:

   Not Logged In