:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2011-10-09= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Sunday 9 Oct 2011

O'Neill and Nolan on Top in Autumn League

Eddie O'Neill of Tinryland and Louise Nolan of Carlow were both
convincing winners of their overall sections following the completion
of the Tinryland AC
Autumn Fun League over 2 miles sponsored by Jason Farrell Sports on
Friday last.

Having ran side by side for the entire duration of the final stage,
O'Neill edged out Brian Kirwan of LOT in a time of 9 minutes 42
seconds with Dwayne Farrell of Tinryland taking 3rd position in 10
mins 03, 2 seconds
ahead of his colleague, 4th placed Colin Payne of the host club.
Stephen Hunter of Clonmel was 5th in 10 mins 17 with 6th placed
finisher Paul Gibbons coming home in 10 mins 24.

In the Ladies section, Louise Nolan took the overall title in this years's
league by placing 1st on the night in a time of 13 mins 05 with the
impressive Brid Long 2nd in 13 mins 15 and Michelle O'Neill 3rd in 13
mins 18.

Other titles on the night went to Tommy McElwaine, Tommy Payne and
Brid Long in the Masters sections.

The following are the results:


1st- Eddie O'Neill (Tinryland) 9.42 ,2nd- Brian Kirwan (LOT) 9.44 3rd-
Dwayne Farrell (Tinryland) 10.03 4th- Colin Payne (Tinryland) 10.05 5th-
Stephen Hunter (Clonmel) 10.17 6th- Paul Gibbons (SBR) 10.24


1st-Louise Nolan (Carlow) 13.05 2nd- Brid Long (LOT) 13.15 3rd-
Michelle O'Neill 13.18

Overall- Men- 1st- O'Neill 3 pts 2nd Kirwan 6 pts 3rd- Farrell 10 pts.
Women 1st- Nolan 5 pts 2nd Long 12 pts.

After the final stage there was the prizegiving ceremony where the
Seamus Galway Memorial Trophy was presented to overall winner Eddie
O'Neill by Paddy Galway. Certificates with times were be given to all
finishers along with tshirts. Great credit is due to all who took part
in this year's league along with organisers Sean Doyle, Pat and Carol
Byrne along with overall sponsor Jason Farrell who once again made a
great contribution to this year's league. This years league attracted
the most overall participants to date with in excess of 130
competitors taking part over the course of the 3 stages.

   Not Logged In