:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2010-10-12= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Tuesday 12 Oct 2010

Byrne and Agar Take Autumn League Titles

Pat Byrne of Tinryland and Teresa Agar of St. Abban's were both convincing winners of
their overall sections following the completion of the Tinryland AC
Autumn Fun League over 2 miles sponsored by Jason Farrell Sports on Friday last.

Having ran side by side for the entire duration of the final stage, Brian Kirwan of LOT
edged out Byrne on the line in a time of 9 minutes 58 seconds inw what was effectively a
dead heat with Mick Kehoe of Tinryland taking 3rd position in 10 mins 08, 17 seconds
ahead of his uncle, 4th placed
Tommy Payne of the host club The ever consistent Tommy McElwaine of SBR, Ferns was 5th
home in 10 mins 33 with 6th placed finisher Danny Lawlor coming home in 10 mins 48. The
excellent Kehoe also edged out McElwaine for the 3rd overall position.

In the Ladies section, Teresa Agar of St.Abban's took the overall title in this years's
league by placing 2nd in 12 mins 05, with the impressive Mary Ann O'Sullivan who was
first on the night with 11 mins 41 while Louise Nolan was 3rd in 12 ins 39.

Other titles on the night went to Tommy McElwaine and Tommy Payne in the Masters
sections, Danny Lawlor in the Junior Mens section while the Greenbank team of Adrian
Oprea, Louise Nolan, Gavin Fraser and Derek Coyle won the clubs section.

The following are the results:


1st- Brian Kirwan (LOT) 9.58,2nd- Pat Byrne (Tinryland) 9.58 3rd-
Mick Kehoe (Tinryland) 10.08 4th- Tommy Payne (Tinryland) 10.25 5th-
Tommy McElwaine (SBR) 10.33 6th- Danny Lawlor (LOT) 10.48


1st-Mary Ann O'Sullivan (Tinryland) 11.41 2nd- Teresa Agar (St.Abban's) 12.05 3rd- Louise
Nolan (Greenbank) 12.39.

Overall- Men- 1st- Byrne 4 pts 2nd Kirwan 5 pts 3rd- Kehoe 10 pts. Women 1st- Agar 4pts
2nd- Nolan 8 pts 3rd- Rose Kennedy (Gowran) 13 pts.

After the final stage there was the prizegiving ceremony where the Seamus Galway Memorial
Trophy was presented to overall winner Pat Byrne by Paddy Galway. Certificates with times
were be given to all finishers alogn with tshirts. Great credit is due to all who took
part in this year's league along with organisers Sean Doyle and Carol Pender along with
overall sponsor Jason Farrell who once again made a great contribution to this year's

   Not Logged In