:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2009-05-03= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Sunday 3 May 2009

Four County League

Tinryland AC Regained the Four County League A Title in Tolerton on Friday
evening last after the final stage of the three legs which were
held in Counties Wexford,Kilkenny and Laois with the opening Carlow stage
cancelled due to weather conditions.
Tinryland finished with 89 pts, ahead of SBR on 132 and Gowran 199 pts.
Pat Byrne was 2nd overall with Dwayne Farrell 3rd overall.
Tommy Payne was 5th overall and winner of the over 50 section.
The other scorers were Mick Kehoe, JJ Murphy and Eddie Walsh.
Newcomer John Dillon led another Tinryland team to victory in the C
section. John took 2nd overall with John Maye in 3rd place.
Theother scorers were Denis Shannon,Billy Abbey, Kevin Cuddy, PJ Byrne,
John Behan and Colin Payne.
Billy Abbey was overall winner in over 55 section while Denis Shannon won
the over 60 section.
Tinryland also took 2nd in the Veterans section.

Deirdre Doyle had a fantastic run to win the 2nd stage defeating St abbans
athletes Ailish Brennan and Cheryl Nolan.

Tinryland AC AGM

The 39th AGM of Tinryland AC took place last week.
Among the highlights were the remarkable achievements by Deirdre Doyle and
Mary Ann O'Sullivan at Leinster, National and International level
The success of the Rockford Race and Mini Rockford events and Autumn
League were also highlighted.
Among the individual successes were Mick Kehoe winning the Carlow Novice
while Tommy Payne retained the Carlow Veterans title.
The Tinryland club won bronze in the Leins Intermediate Cross Country
while in the Home Internationals in Swansea, Pat Byrne, Tommy Paye,
Eddie Walsh and JJ Murphy were all scorers on irish teams.
Pat Byrne won his 10th Carlow CC title while Tinryland won their 28th
odlum cup club title.
In the National Veterans in Tymon Park Dublin, Tommy Payne won the over 50
section and JJ Murphy the over 55's.
Tinryland also won the 1st National Title for the over 50 team.

The officers elected were:

President- Rev John McEvoy PP, Vice Presidents- Mr Jim Salter, Mai Byrne,
Chairman- Denis Shannon, Vice-Chairman John Farrell
Secretary Jim Morgan, Assistant Secretary Sean Doyle.
Competition Secretaries- Joe Doheny and Pat Byrne. Treasurer/Registrar
Carol Byrne, PRO Mark Shannon
Team Captains Margaret Brennan (Ladies) Tommy Payne (Men). Co Board
Delegates- John Farrell, Sean Doyle, Jim Morgan, Denis Shannon.

   Not Logged In