:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2005-05-08= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached image>

Athletics News - Sunday 8 May 2005

Tinryland Retain 4 County League Title

Tinryland AC took another team title in the Four County League after last Friday’s final stage in Monivea Co. Laois. Tinryland’s dominant athlete Pat Byrne once again produced another excellent display of solo running to win his 4th consecutive stage and retain his individual title. Byrne held off the challenge of local favourite Colm Burke and Brian Maher of Kilkenny City Harriers with Dwayne Farrell continuing his return to form with an excellent 4th place finish. Tommy Payne in 5th won another Veterans Title with Eddie O’Neill completing the winning team in 6th. Other Tinryland finishers were Willie Quinlan, JJ Murphy (1st over 50), John Maye, PJ Doyle, Jimmy Morgan (2nd over 50), Joe Doheny, Sean Duggan and Sean Doyle. Tinryland were also 3rd in the Grade C section.
Ann Brennan had another good run in the Ladies event having run very consistently over the course of the league in what was her best year to date.

(Photo enclosed of Tinryland AC members after last Friday’s stage).

The following Tinryland juvenile athletes were successful at the Bagenalstown Sports on Sunday:

Girls Under 12 600m: 1st- Jenny Doheny 3rd- Muireann O’Sullivan
Girls Under 13 600m: 2nd- Mary Ann O’Sullivan
Girls Under 14 100m: 1st- Stephanie Murphy
Girls Under 16 1500m: 1st- Deirdre Doyle
Girls Under 15 Shot Putt: 2nd- Kate Morgan
Boys Under 8 60m: 3rd- John Murphy
Boys Under 16 100m: 2nd- Peter Morgan
Boys Under 17 100m: 4th- Philip Condron
Boys Under 17 Shot Putt: 1st- Peter Morgan

Under 9 Girls:
1st Ann Roche, Heather O’Donoghue, Emma Murphy, Ellen Atkinson
Under 9 Boys:
2nd- Brian Woods, John Murphy, Niall Roche, Sean Bambrick
Under 12 Girls:
4th- Muireann O’Sullivan, Jenny Doheny, Dearbhla Kelly, Sara Donohue
Boys Under 11:
2nd- Brian Roche, Tom Murphy, Kevin Bambrick, Conor Byrne
Girls Under 13:
1st- Dearbhla Kelly, Mary Ann O’Sullivan, Jenny Doheny, Jemina Kirwan
Boys Under 12:
2nd- Shane Hegarty, Tommy Murphy, Conor O’Neill, Andrew Atkinson.

   Not Logged In