:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2005-03-17= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Athletics News - Thursday 17 Mar 2005

Tinryland take Four County League Honours

Tinryland AC started off their defence of their Four County League Title with excellent performances from team members at the first stage in Tinryland on Sunday last. Current holder and National 10km Road Champion Pat Byrne took the lead from the starting gun and after establishing a gap of 200m over the 90 strong field by the end of the 2nd lap went on to win in style. In 2nd position was Colm Burke of St. Abban’s with Tommy McElwaine of SBR closely behind in 3rd. It was a very good day overall for the host club with Tommy Payne 4th, Eddie O’Neill 5th and Dwayne Farrell 7th ensuring that Tinryland are firmly on course to retain the team title. An indication of the strength of the squad came in the fact that PJ Byrne, despite finishing in a fine 8th position, was not among the scorers. Others from the club to run well were JJ Murphy 27th (1st over 50), Eddie Walsh 40th, PJ Doyle 50th, John Maye 51st, Jim Morgan 54th, Sean Duggan 60th, Sean Doyle 61st and Kevin Cuddy 82nd.
In the A section, Tinryland now lead on 17 pts ahead of Portlaoise on 52 and SBR, Ferns on 55. In Grade B, Tinryland are in 5th on 187 pts and are lying 2nd in the C section. Tinryland are also leading the Veterans team event ahead of SBR and KCH.
The womens event was very interesting in the sense that it marked the comeback of Irish International Geraldine Hendricken (LOT) after a 2-year suspension. In the end however, her younger clubmate Eilish Connery broke away in the final lap to win just ahead of Hendricken with Claire Phelan of St. Abban’s in 3rd. Great credit must go one of Tinryland’s on form athletes Ann Brennan who finished 23rd out of the 30 strong field, having just missed out on the individual medals in the recent Carlow CC.
The next stage will be held in Ferns Co. Wexford on Sunday next, March 20th starting with the Youths Race at 2 pm.

Morgan Elected Chairman

Jim Morgan, Tinryland was elected Chairman at the 35th AGM of Tinryland AC in Rathcrogue on Thursday last. Secretary Pat Byrne opened the meeting with a detailed report of a very successful year for the club with successes at juvenile and senior level in local, provincial and national events. Outgoing Chairman John Farrell thanked his fellow officers for their support during the year, the Parish Priest and the GAA Club for the use of facilities and gave special praise to Jim Morgan and John Curran for their tremendous work with juveniles in the club. Among the items discussed were the hosting of the National Half Marathon this year and the Annual Rockford Race. The following officers were elected: President: Fr. John McEvoy PP Vice Presidents: Mrs. Mai Byrne, Jim Salter. Chairman: Jim Morgan. Vice Chairman: PJ Doyle. Secretary Tina Doyle. Assistant Secretary: John Maye. Treasurer: Joe Doheny. Competitions Secretary: Pat Byrne PRO: Mark Shannon. Men's Captain: Tommy Payne. Ladies Captain: Tina Doyle. Delegates to the County Board: Jim Morgan, PJ Doyle and Denis Shannon.

   Not Logged In