:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2005-01-05= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached images>

Athletics News - Wednesday 5 Jan 2005

Tinryland Retain Odlum Cup

Pat Byrne of Tinryland AC won his 6th consecutive County Carlow Cross-Country Title and led Tinryland to win the Odlum Cup with another great solo run in Tinryland on Sunday last. After having an exceptional year in 2004, which included a National 10km Road win, the Army Sergeant continued his great form into the New Year with an exceptional display over the testing 10km course. In the absence of Irish Junior International Danny Darcy, the outcome of the race was never in doubt from the start. Byrne showed his intentions from the start and built up a 20 second lead after the first lap. This lead was gradually increased over the remainder of the race with Byrne taking the Gold in a time of 29 mins 20. Tommy Payne had another excellent race, finishing 2nd on the day, some 60 seconds behind the winner, and won his 25th Senior Individual medal in the process. In 3rd position was LOT Youngster Brian Kirwan in a time of 31 mins 01 just ahead of Championship debutante Eddie O’Neill of Tinryland in 4th. Great credit must go to PJ Byrne who finished in 5th position after a recent spate of injuries and illness. In 6th place was another Local Athlete Andrew Murphy running for LOT. Jeremiah O'Sullivan 7th and JJ Murphy in 10th completed the winning Tinryland team. An interesting fact about JJ Murphy is that he won a County Senior team medal with LOT as a 15 year old in 1966 and 39 years later is still going strong. Other Tinryland finishers were Peter Murphy 11th, Eddie Walsh 16th, Jimmy Morgan 18th, Joe Doheny 19th, PJ Doyle 20th, Sean Duggan 21st, Sean Doyle 22nd, Kevin Cuddy 24th, John Stephens 25th, Billy Abbey 26th and Denis Shannon 28th. Tinryland have now won 25 Senior Titles in the 34 year history of the club and this win was achieved despite a number of late withdrawals leading up to the race.

In the Ladies event, Tina Doyle had a fine run to take the silver medal behind Eilish Connery of LOT. The best Tinryland performance of the day came from Veteran athlete Ann Brennan who gradually moved up the field in the last lap to finish just outside the medals in 4th. LOT took the team event.

The following are the results:

1 Pat Byrne Tinryland 29:20
2 Tommy Payne Tinryland 30:23
3 Brian Kirwan LOT 31:01
4 Eddie O'Neill Tinryland 31:22
5 PJ Byrne Tinryland 31:46
6 Andrew Murphy LOT 32:28
7 Jerry O'Sullivan Tinryland 32:33
8 Mark O'Rourke LOT 32:39
9 Neil O'Rourke LOT 32:56
10 JJ Murphy Tinryland 33:19
11 Peter Murphy Tinryland 33:31
12 Jimmy Doran LOT 33:50
13 Alan Byrne LOT 34:08
14 Shane O'Rourke LOT 34:33
15 A Geoghegan LOT 34:44
16 Eddie Walsh Tinryland 34:52
17 Niall Byrne LOT 35:40
18 Jimmy Morgan Tinryland 35:41
19 Joe Doheny Tinryland 35:58
20 PJ Doyle Tinryland 36:13
21 Sean Duggan Tinryland 36:48
22 Sean Doyle Tinryland 37:37
23 Ian Mullen Ind 38:40
24 Kevin Cuddy Tinryland 38:54
25 John Stephens Tinryland 39:38
26 Billy Abbey Tinryland 40:00
27 Eoin Mulvihill LOT 40:26
28 Denis Shannon Tinryland 40:38

Team- 1st Tinryland (1,2,4,5,7,10)- 29 pts 2nd- LOT (3,6,8,9,12,13)- 51 pts

Senior Women 3 km

1 Eilish Connery LOT
2 Tina Doyle Tinryland
3 Sarah Prendergast LOT
4 Ann Brennan Tinryland
5 Nollaig Delaney LOT
6 Orla Delaney LOT

Team- 1st LOT (1,3,5,6)- 15 pts

The juvenile relays, which were held before the Senior events provided much entertainment for the large crowd. There was much local success in these events with Tinryland winning 5 out of the 6 races held on the day. The following are the local results:

Girls Under 12 1st- Tinryland A (Mary Ann O’Sullivan, Jenny Doheny, Jemina Kirwan, Muireann O’Sullivan)
3rd- Tinryland B (Michelle Brennan, Nuala O’Sullivan, Aoife Byrne, Philippa Kirwan)

Girls Under 14 1st- Tinryland (Kate Morgan, Eleanor Purcell, Jennifer Murphy, Emma Brennan, Isobel Hegarty)

Girls Under 16 1st- Tinryland (Amanda Cassidy, Roisin Walsh, Michelle Cummins, Ella Meaney, Deirdre Doyle)

Boys Under 12- 2nd - Tinryland (David Murphy, Shane Hegarty, Martin Kelly, Tommy Murphy, Craig Coffey)

Boys Under 14- 1st- Tinryland (Darren Murphy, Jeff Sutton, Sam O’Reilly, Adam Murphy, Michael Mullins)

Boys Under 16- 1st- Tinryland A (Patrick Mullins, Patrick Byrne, Shane Redmond, Philip Condron) 2nd- Tinryland B (Christopher Costello, Peter Morgan, Alan Kirwan, Conor Byrne)

The Leinster Senior Championships and Juvenile Relays will be held in Tinryland on Sunday January 16th.

(Pictures enclosed of JJ Murphy, who won a team medal on Sunday, some 39 years after his first success in 1966, the Senior athletes before their race and Pat Byrne being presented with Johnny Jones Cup).

   Not Logged In