:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2004-10-07= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached images>

Athletics News - Thursday 7 Oct 2004

FORMER US scholarship student Tommy Evans of Gowran maintained his excellent current form to win the Tinryland AC Autumn League, sponsored by Jason Farrell Sports on Friday last after a fine win on the final 2-mile stage. Evans was always in control and easily won in a fine time of 9 mins 34, considering the darkness and wet conditions. This was also his 4th successive win in the league. In 2nd position on the night was Tommy Payne in 10 mins 05 with former jockey Pat Malone of Newbridge just one second behind in 3rd place. In 4th was Andrew Connick who travelled up from Rosslare for the race with Willie Hoyne of Thomastown 5th.

Evans won the overall section on 4 pts ahead of Payne with Andrew Connick 3rd. Malone won the highly competitive Veterans section ahead of Jim Stafford from Wexford.

Barbara Rossiter of Kilkenny City Harriers was a fine winner of the Womens Section in a time of 12 mins 48 with Eileen Kelly of St Abbans 2nd and Sarah Prendergast of LOT 3rd.

The veterans section was won by Ann McGreal of Sportsworld.

The league continues to flourish with 60 athletes taking part in the final stage and almost 100 athletes competing over the course of this year's league which are the highest numbers in over 15 years. The presentation of prizes took place after the race in the GAA Centre, Rathcrogue.

The Seamus Galway Trophy for Best Overall Male was then presented by his father Paddy to Evans.

Pat Byrne, Tinryland AC was a fine winner of the Rathdrum 10 mile race over a tough course on Sunday last in a time of 54 minutes, some 3 minutes ahead of the second placed finisher. Peter Murphy was also a fine winner of the Veterans over 50 section, running a time of 61 minutes.

There were also some good performances from Tinryland athletes at the Carlow Underage and Novice CC in Myshall on Sunday last. Deirdre Doyle was a fine winner of the Girls Under 15 Race and the team of Kate Morgan 3rd, Emma Brennan 4th and Eleanor Purcell 5th easily won their event ahead of LOT. Nuala OSullivan and Mary Ann OSullivan were 2nd in the Girls Under 9 and 13 races respectively while Paddy Mullins was 3rd in the Boys Under 17 event. The Boys Under 11 team of Shane Hegarty, Thomas Murphy, Martin Kelly and Craig Coffey also won their team event.

In the Novice Mens event, the evergreen Peter Murphy won the silver medal behind Neil ORourke of LOT with Eddie Walsh taking the bronze medal. John Maye 4th and PJ Doyle 5th ensured Tinryland won team gold.

The County Novice and Even Age Cross Country from Under 10 to Under 18 takes place in Tinryland on Sunday next at 12 am.

   Not Logged In