:: you are here: home > sport > athletics > 2004-06-21= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached images>

Athletics News - Monday 21 Jun 2004

Bennekerry/Tinryland on Top in County Finals

Bennekerry/Tinryland athletes did the parishes proud by retaining the Hosey Cup for the best overall area with a massive total of 125 points at the Carlow Community Games Athletics Finals in Ardattin on Sunday last. While there were some marvellous individual performances, the real strength was in the relays where Bennekerry/Tinryland will represent Carlow in 5 of the 7 events. In all 30 athletes from the area will represent Carlow in the National Finals in September. The hard working committee and coaches were extremely pleased with their young charges. Double Gold Medal winners were Marcus Lawler (Boys Under 10 100m and Relay), Adam Murphy (Boys Under 10 200m and Relay), Jeff Sutton (Boys Under 14 100m and Relay), Darren Murphy (Boys Under 14 Shot Putt and Relay), Christopher Costello (Boys Under 14 Hurdles and Relay), Jeff Abbott (Boys Under 16 100m and Relay), Grace Lawler (Girls Under 8 80m and Relay), Amanda Cassidy (Girls Under 14 100m and Relay), Kate Morgan (Girls Under 14 Long Jump and Relay).

The other medal winners were Girls Under 6 80m: 1st- Doireann Walshe, Girls Under 10 200m 2nd- Philippa Kirwan, Girls Under 14 800m: 1st- Deirdre Doyle, Girls Under 16 100m: 2nd- Sinead Lyons, Boys Under 8 60m: 1st- Cathal Costello, Boys Under 8 80m: 1st- Sean Kirwan, Boys Under 10 Hurdles: 3rd- Colin Townsend, Boys Under 12 100m: 2nd- Eric Bates, Boys Under 14 Long Jump: 3rd- Paul Costello, Boys Under 16 100m: 3rd- Padraig Townsend, Boys Under 16 1500m: 3rd- Shane Redmond.

Boys Under 6 2nd- (George Buchs, Bill Calvey, Cuan Burke, Conor Crowley, Conan Barrett), Girls Under 8 1st- (Grace Lawler, Roisin Byrne, Ashleigh Farrell, Zoe Dowling, Shannon Farrell), Boys Under 8 2nd- (Simon Lowry, Sean Kirwan, Cathal Costello, Fionnan Burke, Shane O’Neill), Girls Under 10 3rd- (Vicky Lawlor, Philippa Kirwan, Ashling Kelly, Jenny Doheny, Robin Long), Boys Under 10 (A) 1st- (Marcus Lawler, Adam Murphy, Ciaran Townsend, Colin Townsend, Conor O’Neill), Boys Under 10 (B) 2nd- Girls Under 12 1st- (Niamh Walshe, Niamh Redmond, Aoife Byrne, Jemima Kirwan, Dearbhla Kelly) Boys Under 12 2nd- (Eric Bates, Michael Lawlor, Donal Curran, James Murphy), ( Girls Under 14 1st- (Amanda Cassidy, Kate Morgan, Elizabeth Lowry, Paula Murphy, Jamie Lee Doyle), Boys Under 14 1st- (Darren Murphy, Ciaran Williamson, Jeff Sutton, Christopher Costello, Conor Byrne), Boys Under 14 (B) 3rd - (Brian Deane, Dean Farrell, Paul Costello, Cillian Townsend, Adam Doyle) Girls Under 16 1st- (Sinead Lyons, Christine Scully, Carrie Lawlor, Roisin Walshe, Mary Barrett), Boys Under 16 1st- (Jeff Abbott, Padraig Townsend, Philip Condron, Patrick Byrne, Ambrose Doran)

   Not Logged In