:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2008-05-31= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Weekly News Roundup - Saturday 31 May 2008

Tinryland NS to receive Second Green Flag

Tinryland NS received their Second Green Flag at a Ceremony in Dublin recently. Teacher Mrs. Ita Finnerty has spearheaded the programme which focused on energy conservation. Ita was assisted in her green flag committee by Cllr. Jim Townsend, Mrs. Marese Hennessey, Mrs. Caroline Farrell and Ms. Fiona Leonard in addition to school pupils Fiach Byrne, Aoife Hayden, Dylan Howard, Roisin Byrne, Jamie Noctor and Breaca Bradley. The programme got great support from the school staff, pupils and parents.

Community Games Finals

There was once again a very large attendance at the Bennekerry/Tinryland Community Games Area Athletics Finals in Rathcrogue on Friday last. The conditions were ideal on the evening and there were some very exciting and keenly contested events throughout.
Unfortunately a number of children could not participate on the night due to going on family holidays at the time of the County Finals.
Great credit is due to all who helped out on the night to make the finals another great success.

The following are the results:

Boys Under 6 60m: 1st- Damien Farrell 2nd- Daryl Nolan 3rd- Adam Ormond

Boys Under 6 80m: 1st- Cillian Nolan 2nd- Jack Mullins 3rd- Joseph Regan

Boys Under 8 60m: 1st- Finbar Kavanagh 2nd- Michael Fawle 3rd- Daire Curran

Boys Under 8 80m: 1st- Maurice Lawlor 2nd- Dinny Farrell 3rd- Ciaran O'Hagan

Boys Under 10 100m: 1st- Conor Brennan 2nd- Cuan Burke 3rd- Cathal O'Neill

Boys Under 10 200m: 1st- Robert Crowley 2nd- Conor Crowley 3rd- Gavin Healy

Boys Under 12 100m: 1st- Sean Kirwan 2nd- Niall Lowry 3rd- Brian O'Mahony

Boys Under 12 600m: 1st- Sean Dermody 2nd- Conor McGrath 3rd- Ciaran Byrne

Boys Under 14 100m: 1st- Marcus Lawlor 2nd- Gavin Curran 3rd- Adam Murphy

Boys Under 14 800m: 1st- Shane Webb 2nd- Stephen Hanlon 3rd- Conor O'Brien

Girls Under 6 60m: 1st- Maeve Holmes 2nd- Amy Broderick 3rd- Ellie Guidera

Girls Under 6 80m: 1st- Aoife Ryan 2nd- Chloe Curran 3rd- Lucy Fawle

Girls Under 8 60m: 1st- Caitlin O'Sullivan 2nd- Rhian Kidd 3rd- Sinead Hayden

Girls Under 8 80m: 1st- Cleo Kennedy 2nd- Abby Broderick 3rd- Shani Mullins

Girls Under 10 100m: 1st- Lauren Holohan 2nd- Rachel Kidd 3rd- Roisin O'Neill

Girls Under 10 200m: 1st- Eve McCanny 2nd- Roisin O'Neill 3rd- Carol Anne Fitzpatrick

Girls Under 12 100m: 1st- Grace Lawlor 2nd- Carol Healy 3rd- Ashleigh Farrell

Girls Under 12 600m: 1st- Roisin O'Brien 2nd- Shauna Nolan 3rd- Shannon Farrell

Girls Under 14 100m: 1st- Phillippa Kirwan 2nd- Erica Farrell 3rd- Ann Marie Murren

Girls Under 14 800m: 1st- Niamh Kennedy 2nd- Aoife Hayden 3rd- Katie Guidera

The County Gymnastics Finals will be held on June 6th in St. Leo's Sportshall at 6.30 pm while the Swimming Finals take place in Graiguecullen Pool at 5.30 pm on June 7th. For further information contact Jacinta Doyle at 9141312.

Cemetery Mass

This years Cemetery Mass will take place in Tinryland on Friday July 4th at 8pm.

Pilgrimage to Knock

The diocesan pilgrimage to Knock takes place on Sunday June 1st. People from all 56 parishes in the diocese are encouraged to take part in this event. Bishop Jim Moriarty will lead the ceremonies and preach. The diocesan choir will also lead the singing. The bus leaves Askea Church Car park at 7.30 am. The cost is 20 per person.

Pilgrimage 2008

The St. Pio Pilgrimage 2008 to Benevento and San Giovanni, takes place from August 8th (St. Pio's Anniversary) for 7 nights. The group leader is Brendan Byrne and the spiritual director is Fr. Brendan Byrne. There is a special group price of 849. For more information contact 059-9152666.


Back to Education Initiative invites individual groups to apply for funding. If your group is interested in organising an accredited course please contact Sarah Deacon or Michelle Murphy at BTEI Carlow at 913952 or email

Ladies Mini Marathon

Volunteers are sought to participate in the Dublin Ladies Mini Marathon in aid of Holy Angels Day Care Centre on Monday June 2nd. Transport and T Shirt will be provided. Sponsorship cards and registration forms are available at Holy Angels (Phone 059-9143911).

Tidy Towns

The Tidy Towns Committee wishes to express thanks to many people for donations received. The committee wishes to invite residents to join in their 2008 campaign every Tuesday and Wednesday evening at 7 pm. A committee meeting will also be held in the Parochial House on Wednesday June 5th at 8 pm. All are welcome.

ICA News

Tinryland ICA would like to thank all those who have contributed so far towards the cost of producing their Cookery book, for their 60th anniversary, which is early next year. Work is currently in progress and it will be on sale before the end of the year. If anyone would like contribute they can forward donations to the Secretary, Mrs. Margo Brophy, Ballybar, Carlow.

   Not Logged In