:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2006-05-21= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Weekly News Roundup - Sunday 21 May 2006

First Communion

23 Children from Tinryland NS received their First Holy Communion in St. Joseph’s Church, Tinryland on Sunday last. The chief celebrant was Rev. John McEvoy PP. The children were prepared for the sacrament by teachers Lorraine Dagg and Laura Ryan. The organist was Mrs. Mary Hennessy O’Neill.
Artist Mrs. Noreen O’Brien was presented with a bouquet of flowers for her creative work with the children. There was also a presentation to Fr. McEvoy from the parents of the children towards the restoration of the stained glass windows.
The following children received their 1st Communion:
Emma Murphy, Tara Murphy, Aoife Maher, Selina Fitzpatrick, Megan K Curran, Katie Farrell, Roisin O’Brien, Laura Burke, Megan Fields, Roisin Hayden, Shauna Nolan, Shannen Fields, Megan E Curran, Niall Scully, Killian Maher, Eamonn Murphy, Phillip Farrell, Brendan Foley, Bradleigh Nolan, Sean Regan, Jamie Noctor, Conor McGrath, Peter Hennessy.

Stained Glass Window

Work has commenced on the restoration of the three stained glass windows in Tinryland Church. The most famous is the one dedicated in memory of Captain Myles Keogh. The total cost for this work is €12,000. To date parishioners have contributed €1,500 towards the fund.
Further donations would be most welcome and can be forwarded to Fr. John McEvoy PP.

This years annual cemetery mass in Tinryland will be held on Friday July 7th.

Former Tinryland N.S. pupils win awards at Carlow C.B.S.

Former pupils of Tinryland N.S. figured among the award winners at the St. Mary’s Academy C.B.S. student awards evening on Thursday last. On the academic side former pupils David Kavanagh of Linkardstown and Shane Redmond of Tinryland won prestigious awards. David who is a son of Willie and Ann Kavanagh received an award as the leading Transition year student while Shane Redmond who is a son of Eamonn and Ann Redmond was honoured for his outstanding result in last years Junior Cert that saw him gain one of the highest marks in the country.

On the sporting side Conor Byrne of Ballybar Upper received the Diarmuid Broderick perpetual trophy as the outstanding U16 Gaelic footballer while Padraig Townsend of Ballyloo was honoured for his outstanding Handball achievements that will see him travel to the World championships in Canada later in the year. Christopher Costello of Rathcrogue received awards for debating and environmental work while Declan Ryan of Ballybar also received an environmental award as a member of the Green school committee while TJ Curran received a 2nd year blue card award. Tinryland G.F.C. members Lee Buggle and Mikey Byrne both received soccer awards while David Dowling of Kilmeaney received a 5th year student of the year award. Newly installed G.A.A. President Nicky Brennan was the guest of honour at last Thursday’s ceremony.

Mr. Jim Gladney

The death took place in St. Luke’s Hospital, Kilkenny on Wednesday May 10th of Mr. Jim Gladney, Clocristic, Milford.
Jim, who was aged 81 years, had been unwell for some time.
The deceased is survived by his wife Christina, nephews, relatives and friends. Remains were removed from Somers Funeral Home, Bagenalstown at 6.15 o’c on Friday evening arriving at St Joseph’s Church via Milford Cross at 7pm.
Requiem Mass was held in St. Joseph’s Church at 11 o’c on Saturday followed by burial in the adjoining cemetery

Sympathy is also extended to Mr. Cormac Brophy, Ballybar on the death of his sister Sheila Brennan (formerly of Rathcrogue) in Dublin during the week.

Ladies Mini Marathon

Runners and Sponsors are sought in support of the Holy Angels Day Care
Centre, Carlow for this years Mini Marathon which takes place on June 5th. Transport and tee shirts will be provided. Cards are available from Sharon at 9143911 or Catherine at 087-9356616.

ICA Outing

The Tinryland ICA Annual Outing to Lismore Castle and Gardens in Co. Waterford and Mount Melleray will take place on Tuesday June 13th. Anyone interested in joining the guild members on their outing should contact either Frances at 9142073 or Freda at 9146539 before June 7th for further information.

Diocesan Pilgrimage to Knock

On Sunday June 4th next, Bishop Jim Moriarty will lead priests and people of the diocese in the Pilgrimage to Knock. A bus will bring pilgrims from the area. Tickets for the bus may be obtained in the sacristy for Adults (20 Euro) or Children U14 (10 Euro).

St Joseph’s Young Priests Society

The St Joseph’s Young Priests Society Annual Pilgrimage to Knock will take place on Saturday June 24th. A bus will be organised and tickets may be booked through Josie Kelly, Linkardstown ph 087-8324656.
The preacher at the Eucharist in the basilica will be Fr. Conn Maloney, Carlow College.

National Pilgrimage

The Padre Pio National Pilgrimage to Holy Cross Abbey, Thurles takes place on Sunday May 28th and the diocesan pilgrimage to Knock Shrine will be held on Sunday June 4th. There will be a bus from Carlow on both weekends. Early booking essential. For further information please contact Eithne Ryan at 9722004 or Brendan Dunne at 9132392.

   Not Logged In