:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2001-06-08= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Weekly News Roundup - Friday 8 Jun 2001


Tinryland Area Development Association will unveil the Heritage Trail Finder Map in Tinryland village on Sunday next, June 10th at noon. Guest speakers will attend. It will be unveiled by Walter Lacey, Chairman of Carlow County Council and it is hoped that there will also be a speech by historian Martin Nevin. The trail finder is situated at the entrance to St. Martin’s Terrace. The detailed map locates over 25 points of historical interest in the area including the Linkardstown neolithic site, Ballyloo Castle and all crossroads and placenames. Other significant places marked on the finder are Killogan Graveyard and Ancient Cross in Clonmelsh, which is also the site of the monastery of St. Wilibrord who was later to become patron saint of Luxembourg. A wide and diverse range of history is displayed in the finder with the site of the Ballybar Race Course, the Disney Graves in Clonmelsh and the site of Graignaspideogue Castle all mentioned. Its presence in the village should be of interest to natives, visitors and historians alike. Two areas of historical significance have been omitted due to the owners requests.

Lottery Winners: A 16 strong syndicate from the Dan Morrissey Bennekerry office were lucky winners in the Lotto Plus draw last weekend. The workers, some of whom are from the Tinryland area have been doing the lotto for past 10 years and win a share of 16,000.

Cemetery Cleaning: The Annual Cemetery Mass will be on Friday July 6th. All people tending to graves are asked to bring all weeds, grass or wreaths to the dump at the cemetery gate.

Confirmation: 37 pupils made their confirmation on Tuesday June 5th in St. Joseph’s Church, Tinryland. The chief celebrant was the most Reverend Dr. Laurence Ryan, Bishop of Kildare and Leighlin.

The following received confirmation: Jonathan Curran, Rachel Mannion, Padraig Townsend, Thomas Burke, Shane Redmond, Sinead Lyons, Willie Cassidy, Christine Scully, Sean Ryan, Pierre Chall, Eoghan Doyle, Keith Byrne, Darren Costello, Michael Pender, Emma Murphy, Jason Curran, Marie Hayes, Danny Lawlor, Brian Farrell, Feena Monahan, Michael Murphy, Patrick Kelly, Ryan Curran, Tina Walker, Amanda Doyle, Mark Roche, Patrick Byrne, Orla Glancy, Louise Aylward, Ian Scully, Luke Doyle, Colm Delaney, Peter Morgan, Catherine Tiernan, Colm Nolan, Ciara Jeaney and David Kavanagh.

PTAA: The confirmation class will be presented with their pioneer pins on Friday June 8th. Sr. Concilio will give a small talk on the dangers of drugs and alcohol during the mass. All children must be in the church at 7.10 pm for a group photograph. There will be refreshments served afterwards in the school for the parents and their families.

Pilgrimage: The St. Joseph’s Young Priests Society Annual Pilgrimage to Knock takes place on Saturday June 23rd. The cost is £8. For further information please contact Josie Kelly at 46286.

Girls’ Soccer: Bennekerry/ Tinryland took part in the Community Games Girls Under 15 Soccer Competition on Saturday morning last. Following a walkover against Bagenalstown, they faced Borris in the semi-finals. Borris started the better with some fine attacking football. Laura Murphy, Amy Doyle, Andrea Jeaney and Rachel Chall played outstanding in defence to catch Borris offside throughout the first half. Antoinette Farrell’s strike from midfield caught the Borris keeper off guard and ended up in the net. Borris levelled early in the second half but the Area 11 strike force of Aoife Horan and Caoimhe Whelan kept the Borris defence very busy and with 15 minutes left Caoimhe Whelan’s efforts paid off with the winning goal.

Area 11 then faced Graiguecullen in the final. They faced an uphill battle with Laura Murphy and Antoinette Farrell carrying knocks. Simone Kelly and Mairead Cushen got more into the play in midfield. From a corner Graiguecullen took the lead late in the first half. The second half saw Clare Farrell moved out of goal and it paid off with a great solo effort after the restart which put Area 11 level. Josephine Farrell then ran at the Graiguecullen defence but shot inches wide. Graiguecullen upped the pace and took the lead with 15 minutes left with an unstoppable shot. Five minutes later Area 11 were unlucky to concede another goal which they were unable to respond to until the end. It was a great all round effort from the Bennekerry/Tinryland girls to reach the final. In both games Amy Doyle played outstanding for Area 11. Special thanks to Ann Lyons for getting the girls together for the soccer.

Girls’ Football: Tinryland-Bennekerry Under 14 Girls Football Team had their second victory in this year’s championships with a win over Ballon on Tuesday in Tinryland on a scoreline of 4-1 to 1-2. The Tinryland-Bennekerry backline completely dominated this game and with Amanda Doyle doing trojan work on the half forward line it should have been a easier victory with much chances squandered. Best for Tinryland/Bennekerry were A Byrne in goal, L Kennedy, L Murphy and J Nolan in defence and forwards A Doyle, C Lawlor and N O’Regan. The team was A Byrne, A Parker, L Kennedy, A Doyle, S Lyons, L Murphy, J Nolan, R Cleary, G Nolan (1-1), A Doyle, C Whelan (1-0), R Deane, C Lawlor (1-0), N O’Regan (1-0), S Kelly. Subs used S Williamson, A Jeaney, I Delaney and M Cushen.

GAA: Tinryland emerged victorious in the Jim Deane Tournament in Rathcrogue last weekend following a well-earned 2-10 to 2-5 victory over Leighlinbridge. Tinryland were unfortunate to have some injuries during the match including that to key player Noel Scully. Best for Tinryland were Noel Scully, Keith Gaule in goal, Niall Barrett, Paul Doyle and Willie Power.
Tinryland will open their campaign in the intermediate championship against St. Patrick’s on Friday next. They will play in a group which also consists of Eire Og and Bagenalstown with 2 teams advancing to the semi-finals.
In Juvenile competition, the Under 12 B team defeated Askea by 4-13 to 0-4 away to ensure their place in the Div 2 Semi-Final. Best for Tinryland were Padraig Whelan, Joey Ryan, Darren Murphy, Cormac Walshe.
The Under 12 A squad drew with table toppers Bagenalstown with only a last minute goal denying them victory. Best for Tinryland were Cian Clancy, Darren Costello, David O’Shea and Patrick Byrne.

   Not Logged In