:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2000-12-15= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Weekly News Roundup - Friday 15 Dec 2000

Tinryland Tigh an Raoireann

Tinryland crowned champions

Tinryland were crowned Carlow SFL Div. 2 champions following another fine performance in last Sunday’s final against St. Patrick’s at Grange.
Two first half goals from John Murphy and Garry Morrissey when Tinryland were playing against a strong wind helped in no small measure towards this win and Tinryland will now play in Div. 1 next year as champions of Div. 2.
Tullow were first to score with the wind but Tinryland retired at half time with a three point cushion following Murphy and Morrissey’s goals.
On the restart, Tullow came out with all guns blazing and the Tinryland advantage was narrowed to a single point by the 36th minute following two points from Johnny Mernagh and Nicky Jackman. John Murphy steadied the Tinryland ship when he pointed in the 39th minute and this score seemed to give the whole team a new lease of life as they went on to score seven more unanswered points.
These scores between the 42nd and 54th minutes came from Niall Barrett, Garry Morrissey (2), John Murphy, Martin Doyle, sub John Doyle and Trevor O’Reilly. Despite two late scores from St. Patrick’s, Tinryland ran out easy winners on a scoreline of 2-9 to 0-8.
After the game, Tinryland captain Bernard Mullan was presented with the Div. 2 Trophy by the newly elected county chairman Eddie Byrne.
For Tinryland John Murphy was superb throughout the game and he was backed up by impressive performers in Niall Barrett, Bernard Mullan, Ger and Noel Scully, Garry Morrissey, Willie Power, John Farrell and Trevor O’Reilly.
Mick Murphy and his fellow selectors David Power and Peter Scully can also take a bow having brought the team from the brink of relegation in this league to become champions and without doubt this team is capable of winning next year’s intermediate championship.

Scorers for Tinryland were John Murphy (1-3), Garry Morrissey (1-2), John Doyle, Martin Doyle, Niall Barrett and Trevor O’Reilly (0-1) each.

Hayden Re-Elected: The first Tinryland GFC Annual General Meeting of the new millennium saw Brendan Hayden returned as chairman for a third successive term. Changes at the top table saw Ned Deane replace David Power who did not seek re-election for the position of vice chairman. Mary Doyle is the new treasurer succeeding Denis Murphy who did not seek re-election.
Brendan Hayden in his chairman address looked back on a satisfactory year during which progress was made in many sectors of the club. Brendan also listed discipline in all areas as one of the priorities for the coming year.
Outgoing secretary Cormac O’Toole in his detailed report highlighted the good performances of the minor team and also the improving form of the intermediate squad in the league . The Intermediate team, while having a disappointing exit from the championship, made amends with a great league performance at the end of the year and the level of workrate from the players, he said, was a very encouraging sign for next year.
In his report, the secretary was concerned with the fact that the junior team struggled to field a team in the championships and this would be a challenge for the selectors next year. He also praised the Minor team, which was the most successful adult team in the club, putting in fine performances to reach the semi-finals of the league and also lost narrowly to Eire Og in the County Final.
The juvenile section of the club continued to flourish during the past year with the U10 and U14 teams competing in County A Finals while the Under 12 team won the County B Championship and the juvenile team won club of the year for the 3rd year in a row in Carlow.
He also noted that the club was also involved in a successful fund raising venture.
He also highlighted the improvements in handball and ladies football at underage level.
His report concluded by thanking all club members for their help with the club and the sponsors who had given great support during the year.
The meeting was also addressed by the club captain Bernard Mullan who called on all club members to put their shoulder to the wheel to ensure that Tinryland continues to make progress on the road back to the top rank of Carlow senior football.

The following were elected: President: Michael Whelan; vice presidents: Fr. Peter Dunne and Paddy Regan; chairman: Brendan Hayden; vice chairman: Ned Deane; hon. secretary: Cormac O’Toole: hon. treasurer: Mary Doyle; asst secretary: John Farrell; PRO: Eamonn Byrne; registrars: Bernard Mullan and Peter Scully; committee: David Power, Michael Murphy, Joe Walshe, Cora Townsend, Ned Byrne, Michael Keyes, Bridie Pender, John Barrett, Shay Byrne, John Doyle, Donal Murphy and Tom Delaney.

School B.O.M: The following will serve as members of the Board of Management of Tinryland NS from 2000 to 2003: Eamonn Byrne (Ballybar), Bridie Pender (Ballybannon), Rev. Peter Dunne, Jenny Fitzpatrick (Kilmeany), Catherine Flynn, Denis Shannon, Melissa Walshe (Park), Eamonn Redmond (Tinryland).
The officers of the Parent Teacher Association are: chairperson: Josie Kelly, hon secretary: Brenda Maddock, hon treasurer: Jackie Deane, Delegates to N.P.A: Michael Murphy, Mary Murphy.

Forthcoming events: wimming: late January to April. 1st Communion: May 19th. Confirmation: June 5th at 5 pm

School Concert: This year’s Tinryland NS School Concert will be held in the PE Room on Mon Dec 18th at 7.30 pm. Because of confined space, each family in the school will be limited to two adults. There will be a matinee on Friday next, December 15th at 12.30 pm and all are welcome to attend.

Athletic Success: Tinryland athletes represented Carlow with distinction at the annual Tullamore festival of races recently. Tommy Payne with a time of 20 mins 22 for the 4 mile course finished 4th out of a field of 70 in the Veterans Race. Kevin Cuddy finished 40th. Dwayne Farrell, Sean Doyle, PJ Doyle and Sean Duggan finished 8th club in the Senior 4 mile event.
The next club event will be the annual St. Stephen’s Day “Turkey Trot” at 11.30 am.
The County Carlow Senior and Junior Cross Country Championships will be held in Tinryland on January 7th at 2 pm while the Leinster equivalent will be held in the same venue on January 21st.

Penitential Service: There will be a penitential service on Tuesday 19th of December in St. Joseph’s Church, Tinryland.

Meeting: There will be a meeting of the Parish Council in the Parochial House tonight (Wednesday) at 8 pm.

   Not Logged In