:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2000-11-03= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info
<attached image>

Weekly News Roundup - Friday 3 Nov 2000

Tinryland Tigh an Raoireann

Presentation of Medals

The winning local NS boys and girls teams were presented with their Cumann na mBunscol medals on Friday by Mr. Jim Deane Snr. at a prizegiving ceremony in the school. Jim, who tasted success with Tinryland and Carlow told the children that he won his first medal in 1937 and felt he had won an All Ireland. He hoped that the children would reform in time with a County Senior Title. The CKR trophy was presented to winning Captain Amanda Doyle while Padraig Townsend received the Nationalist Cup.

Athletics: Irish Veteran International athlete Tommy Payne was the top local performer with a fine 2nd position in the Veterans Race at the Leinster AAI Championships in the Patrician College, Ballyfin Co. Laois on Sunday last. Tommy had a fine tussle with Tom O’Connor of Liffey Valley with the Dublin athlete coming out on top in the last lap with former Marathon runner Paddy Mangan of Meath in 3rd place. John Stephens, Kevin Cuddy and Seamus Connolly all performed well to complete the Tinryland team. Tinryland also had strong showers in the Novice Race with PJ Byrne in 14th the top finisher while Sean Doyle and Sean Duggan placed well.

St Joseph’s A.F.C.: St. Joseph’s 6 Tullow B 2. St Joseph’s under 12 soccer team achieved their first ever league win against a very spirited Tullow B team on Saturday in Tullow. The Saints started brightly and playing some very simple but controlled football dominated the first half. After 10 minutes following some neat passing from their own penalty area the ball was passed by Ambrose Doran to Mickey Murphy who drilled a low shot past the Tullow keeper from twenty yards to put the Saints one up. Three minutes later Saints went two up when a shot from Murphy came back off the post for Brian O Halloran (Poacher) to coolly slot home.

Ambrose Doran then scored twice, one a well struck shot from distance giving the keeper no chance. At four nil Saints seemed to be cruising but then Tullow were awarded a penalty. The resultant penalty kick produced a save from Colm Nolan that had both home and away supporters applauding because of its sheer brilliance.

The second half saw Tullow score on a breakaway after about 5 minutes. However St Joseph’s then produced the goal of the game. The ball was played out to the right wing where Jason Curran controlled it brilliantly and swung over an instant cross for Ryan Curran making his debut to power it home. Tullow then scored a second after a mix up in the Saints defence but Ian Scully then finished the game off with a powerful shot from the edge of the box.

This young team is now starting to relax and play nice football. If they continue to put into the game what they are learning at training as they showed on Saturday they can, they will be a very strong team later in the season.

Darren Costello, Jason Kelly, Jason Curran and Sean Ryan performed excellently in a team of stars.

St Joseph’s A.F.C. AGM: The first A.G.M of the newly formed club took place in Rathcrogue House on Tuesday 24th Oct. There was a good turnout and the following were elected officers for the year. Martin Byrne Chairman, Jim Murphy Secretary, Alan Doyle Treasurer. Michael O Halloran, Danny Lawlor, John Maddock and Frank Kelly were elected onto the Committee.

Those present accepted the draft constitution and anyone interested in joining the club will be given a copy and encouraged to abide by it.

The Chairman announced that the club is fortunate to be able to take the players to see the Ireland V Finland game on the 15th November. Details of the trip are available from the Secretary.

Again anyone interested in joining the club either as a player (under 12) or wanting to help out please contact the secretary. A vote of thanks was passed to our sponsors and also David O Neill, Niall Shannon, Colin Byrne, Andrew Murphy and Ian Doyle for the help they are giving to training.

GAA: The final of the Dan Morrissey Senior Football Tournament will take place in Tinryland GAA Grounds, Rathcrogue on Saturday next at 3 pm. This year’s final is an all Laois affair between current Laois Senior Football Champions St. Joseph’s and Crettyard. In the semi-finals, St. Joseph’s defeated Eire Og while Crettyard accounted for Palatine.

Foroige: Tinryland Foroige Club, which is now 5 weeks in existence, recently elected the following as officers for the year: Chairperson- Aideen Byrne, Ballybar, Hon. Secretary- Caoimhe Whelan, Ballycrogue, Hon. Treasurer- Gary Fields, Tinryland, PRO- Liam Fitzpatrick, Tinypark. Meetings are held on Fridays at 8 pm in Tinryland GAA Club. Newcomers between the ages of 12 and 15 are most welcome.

Mary “Does Not Feed the Gondolas”: Retired Tinryland NS teacher Mary Agar, Chaplestown, proved a tough opponent for reporter Pat McDonnell of “Don’t Feed the Gondolas” when he visited Carlow for his “state of the nation” report. When asked to compare Bunny Carr’s “Quicksilver” to Gaybo’s “Who Wants to be a Millionaire?”, she retorted that she would never comment on RTE’s presenters over the airways. Regarding her opinion on the programme, she stated while her grandchildren would enjoy such television, she never watches such frivolities.

ICA Meeting: The November Meeting of Tinryland ICA will be held in Rathcrogue House tonight (Wednesday) at 8 pm sharp. A guest speaker will attend. All new members are welcome.

TADA: Tinryland Area Development Association will soon erect a heritage trail route finder in the village. To date the committee has identified 27 places of historical interest in the area which will be indicated on the map. If other areas of interest exist, the group would welcome information on same, so they can be added to the map. Contact any member of the group or phone 40083 or 43430.

Award: Members of the Tinryland Area Development Association attended the Awards night held in Kilkenny Castle on Thursday last, October 26th where the group was presented with the endeavour award for County Carlow by Environment Minister Noel Dempsey TD. The award is for the best improved area in the Tidy Towns Competition. The group wishes to thank the small number of residents who helped in any way

   Not Logged In