:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2000-09-01= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Weekly News Roundup - Friday 1 Sep 2000

Tinryland Tigh an Raoireann

There were great scenes of jubilation in Butlins on Sunday evening when it was announced that Area 11 had struck gold for its choir on the 4th attempt. The choir had won bronze in '97, silver in '98, and bronze in 99. It was also the 1st time to have defeated Offaly (Birr) at either provincial or national level.
Great credit is due to conductor Mary Amond O'Brien, organist Clare McHugh and the committed parents who have taken the children for instruction on numerous occasions. The group showed their versatility by performing the Clare-Benediction, a Gloria and medley of popular hits from the 60's.
Offaly (Birr) were runner's up, Donegal (Ballyshannon) 3rd and last years winners Derry 4th. Best wishes are extended to the athletes who are in action over the weekend.

Under/14 McDonalds Championship: Tinryland played O'Hanrahan's in Dr.Cullen Park on Monday 21st August in the first of the U/14 semi-finals. Tinryland started very sluggish with O'Hanrahan's quicker to the ball, the over ran Tinryland backs time after time. Tinryland got back into the game with goals from Niall Shannon, John Murphy and Richard Whyte plus a fine point from Danny O'Boyle in midfield, Tinryland went to the break 2 points up 3-1 to 2-2.
In the second half Tinryland had to work very hard in midfield Evan Doyle and Danny O'Boyle linking up well with John Murphy and Colm Doran. But it was heart-stopping stuff in the closing stages until a good goal from full forward John Murphy put Tinryland through on a scoreline of 4-6 to 3-8. They will now meet the highly fancied Eire Og in the 'A, semi-final who beat Bagnelstown.
Scorers for Tinryland: John Murphy 2-1, Richard Whyte 1-0, Niall Shannon 1-0, Daniel O'Boyle 0-2, Colm Doran 0-2, Paul Broderick 0-1

Minor Final: All roads lead to Dr. Cullen Park on Sunday next when the Tinryland minor football team will contest in the Co. Minor Final for the second successive year. Once again the opposition will be Eire Og who comfortably defeated Tinryland in last years final. Hopes are high that on Sunday next the lads can reverse last year's result. The team has been very impressive in the last two championship matches against Naomh Eoin and Kildavin-Clonegal. All Tinryland people are encouraged to support the lads on Sunday as they strive to bring home a first ever minor title to club. The panel for next Sunday is as follows: Anthony Gaul, Brian Foster, John Doyle Captain, Willie Power, Chris Cleary, John Ryan, Mark Doran, Shane O'Neill, Thomas Pender, Alan Barrett, Cian Moore, Shane Delaney, Barry Doyle, John Whyte, Maurice Nolan, Paul Haughney, Niall Barrett, James O'Reilly, Trevor O'Reilly, Paul Doyle, Mark Townsend, Padraig Minnock, Shane Brown, John Paul Moore, Padraig Delaney.
Tinryland will contest the Co. A Final next Tuesday evening at 6:45 p.m. in Dr.Cullen Park. Tinryland won this championship last year and their opponents in the final will be Eire Og.
The U.10's who have qualified for the final of the Maurice Nolan Tournament travel to Athy this Thursday evening for a match against the local side. The team will depart from Tinryland square at 5:45 p.m.

School Re-opens: Tinryland N.S. will re-opens on Friday next, September 1st.

Public Meeting On Alzheimer's Disease: On Wednesday 6th September 2000 in the Dolmen Hotel, Kilkenny road, Carlow at 8 p.m. sharp. Admission free. Guest speakers Dr. Lorcan Martin, consultant, St. Finian's Hospital Portlaoise and Michael Neville, Snr. Development Officer, The Alzheimer's society of Ireland. All Welcome

Autumn League: The annual autumn league will commence this evening at 7-30 p.m. the club had a successful outing in Coolguill (Tipperary) recently. Pat Byrne finished 2nd in the 5k event in a fine time of 15:00. Tommy Payne finished 1st in the V1. In 15-35. J.J. Murphy was first in the V3 with Kevin Cuddy taking bronze in the V2.

   Not Logged In