:: you are here: home > news > bulletin > 2000-02-18= > 
About the Area
Parish Info
Clubs / Groups
Contact Info

Weekly News Roundup - Friday 18 Feb 2000

Tinryland Tigh an Raoireann

Athletics review
Another successful year for Tinryland Athletic Club was reported on by secretary Sean Doyle at the club’s 29th AGM which was held in Rathcrogue House on Wednesday last.

The winning of the “A” section of the 4 County League by the senior mens team was a notable feat.

The holding of the 20th annual Rockford Rooftile Race in October when over 100 athletes participated was another highlight.

In the cross country scene, the club won gold in the Leinster veterans with Tommy Payne winning gold and getting a silver in the national veterans in Sligo recently. In the Carlow cross country championships despite taking the 1st two individual places, the club lost the Odlum Cup to St Laurence O’Toole’s by a mere four pts.

Another athlete who distinguished himself during the year was Pat Byrne. Pat won the National BLE Games 3000m, the Leinster Indoor 3000m, finished 4th in the National Indoor 3000m and also won the Hopper McGrath, Gorey, Ballynanty and Simon 5 mile road races while in cross country he took the County and All Army Titles. Four club athletes (Payne, Byrne, J. J Murphy and P.J Byrne) helped Carlow win Grade C of the National Inter Counties.

FINANCES: Mr. Jimmy Morgan presented a very comprehensive and healthy financial report. Outgoing chairman John Farrell congratulated the club on their achievements and wished the members every success over the coming season. He appealed to the ladies to re-establish their team. He went on to thank the Morrissey family, John Noctor, Fr. Dunne and the GAA Club for their help during the year.

Juvenile Training is to commence in early March.

OFFICERS: The following officers were elected: President- Fr. Peter Dunne PP, Vice Presidents- May Byrne, Jim Salter, Chairman- John Farrell, Vice Chairman- Tommy Payne, Hon. Secretary- Sean Doyle, Ass. Secretary- Carol Pender, Treasurer- Jim Morgan, PRO- Mark Shannon, Registrars- Ann Brennan and Denis Shannon, Committee- Eamonn Byrne, Tina Doyle, Paddy Farrell, Pat McArdle, Nuala Quirke, Pat Byrne, Kevin Cuddy and Tommy Doyle.

SPORTS DANCE: The annual Tinryland GFC Sports Stars dinner dance takes place in Rathcrogue House on Saturday, February 26 at 8.30 pm. The following will receive Sports Star Awards:

Gaelic football, John Murphy; Young Player, William Power; work with juveniles, John Doyle; athletics, John Joe Murphy; badminton, Ann Kavanagh; handball, Eamonn Sunderland.

The five special awards for dedicated service in the last century: Mickey Whelan (Staplestown), Joe O’Gorman (Carlow), Pat Hayden (Kilmeaney), Tom Doyle (Carlow), Tommy O’Neill (Staplestown).

A special award will also go to Paddy Sullivan, the last surviving Tinryland member of the 1944 Leinster winning Carlow team.

A presentation will be made to Dan Carbery who trained the teams last year.

There will also be a special presentation to five club members in recognition of service during the last century. Tickets for the night are still available from Deane’s Shop or from any committee member. Music on the night will be provided by “Two for Joy”.

Training for Tinryland Footballers for the coming season commences on Tuesdays at 7.30 pm under new trainer Michael Murphy.

Community Alert: A meeting of Tinryland Community Alert will take place on Tuesday 22nd of February in Tinryland GAA Centre, Rathcrogue at 8.30 pm. The committee are also holding a fund raising dance in Rathcrogue on Monday February 28th. Music will be provided by Brose Walsh. Tickets will be on sale shortly. All support would be greatly appreciated.

Coach Tour to Dublin: There will be a bus trip to Dublin on Sunday February 27th visiting Inchicore to attend a Spring Sale in aid of the Oblate Missions. The tour will also include a visit to Newlands Garden Centre and shop. Anyone interested please contact Eithne Ryan at 22004 or Edward Dawson at 59109.

Badminton: The Tinryland badminton team are competing this year in Div 2 of the Carlow and South West Leinster Leagues. The going is very tough in this division but hopefully the experience gained will lead to improvement next year. Amazingly the team reached the semi-final of both leagues and with a bit of luck they might cause a shock in the Cup. The team are as follows: Edel Dunne, Ann Kavanagh, Eilish Costello, Helen Byrne, Pat Meaney, Willie Kavanagh, Jimmy Farrell and Jimmy Murray.

The second team are not finding it easy either, although considering their age and level of fitness they’re not doing too bad. This team of superstars consists of Ann Hennessy, Margaret Burke, Mary Doyle, Enid McCreanor, John McAssey, Larry Barrett, Anthony McGuill and Donal Murphy.

Rosary: A Rosary and Distribution of the Eucharist will be held in St. Joseph’s Church on Tuesday and Wednesday mornings at 9.30 am in Tinryland Church.

Good wishes are extended to Fr. Dunne, who is recovering from a successful operation. He will be discharged from hospital during the week and will convalesce with his family until he resumes parochial duties.

Alzheimer’s Meeting: The AGM of the Carlow Branch of the Alzheimer Society will be held in the Tara Arms, Tullow tonight (Wednesday) February 16th at 8 pm.

   Not Logged In